I’m just not sure.

I’ve been using my little BBQ quite a lot as the days have been dry, albeit not that warm. I found that after the first day it never really worked all that well for it was either too hot of not warm enough. I read on-line and had a chat with a New Zealander who said lava rock was the thing. The thing is I don’t know where they should sit relative to the burner. As is, from the photo (and it is cooking beef far better with rock than with that steel tent thing) the rock is a good bit above the burners and the food is, but for the rack, sitting on them.
Yeah I know it’s a small thing. But it did for seven 10 oz. Granted without much room. True I lusted after contraptions that looked like the bridge of the Enterprise, but sanity took over.

DSC_5144-1

This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to I’m just not sure.

  1. Kelly says:

    I can in no way claim to be any sort of authority on grilling. My experience is limited to a small pile of charcoal in a hibachi or other tiny grill (though I’ve done more than my share of that). What I can state with authority is that I’d be more than happy to eat some of that asparagus you grilled. It looks delicious!

    • Vincent says:

      Oh, I’m the same. The only knowledge I have too is that charcoal thing, and I developed a feel for that. And yep, asparagus on a BBQ is very good, that’s a tip from Kimberly. It can get to a place of undercooked overcooked midpoint that’s a bit ore forgiving on the whole than any other method.

  2. Sage says:

    In the gas grill we have, the lava rock is closer to the burners-just above them–so that they can glow and heat up. I would prefer charcoal, but I got no say in when my trusted Weber was traded for a gas range for the patio. I still lust after the weber charcoal grill… do you use propane or natural gas?

    • Vincent says:

      Thanks, I must see if I can get a smaller rack for the rock then. It wouldn’t need to be much smaller since the sides aren’t sloped much at all.
      This came with a Butane regulator but I’ll switch that out once I’ve a bit of time and when the cylinder runs low. The Propane is a better man for outside, heavier, not as thin, and so lasts a good bit longer. I also need the P for the cooker anyway and here B will not work below 4C and out winters tend to hover in that range.

      Oh we have those Weber charcoal grill style. The problem with them is they tend to be left out an rot at a blinking amazing rate. You visit someone who has a spotless home and garden where a kettle BBQ is rapidly returning to the iron ore state.

  3. Kimberly says:

    I have zero knowledge of rock/charcoal grilling and have never even used a BBQ that isn’t hooked up to the gas. I do agree with Sage about the flavor on those little grills, I’m just not knowledgeable about how to do it. It does seem like grilling is one those sciences where you could ask 100 people the best way and you’d get 100 different answers. It’s a lot of experimentation and choosing what works best for you, you’re grill, your climate, etc.
    What I do know is your meal looks delicious, and I’m wondering what time I should be there for dinner?!?! ;).

    • Vincent says:

      I believe the upended V which was in mine and is in your one is a better system. It’s the next generation from the lave rock. But it’s so windy here and so changeable that the rock seems to work better as the chamber is halved with the layer of stone. At least I think it’s the wind that’s the issue.

      Ta, it was quite good. You know something, Jessy won’t eat the BBQ chicken at all. And only eats a bit of beef with coaxing. When normally she’d be nudging my knee telling me she’s there, now she just fecks off to bed.

      • Kimberly says:

        That’s funny about Jess. Rigby sits by the grill waiting, hoping for anything that is dropped or dripped, nose sniffing all the good smells. I guess more for you then. šŸ™‚
        Our temps have creeped back up towards a hundred so have been looking for entire meals to cook outside – turning on the oven is bad when it’s this hot. I saw someone make pizza with fresh dough and toppings right on the grill. It sounds amazing, but I’d worry that the dough would get stuck on those grates and turn into a mess.
        I’m glad you’re liking the asparagus. Have you tried squash and/or zucchini yet? Or any fruit? Nectarines are something when grilled.

        • Vincent says:

          With the Pizza, I’d say it’s doable in a very big one. In the real ovens, brick ovens that is, the source is well away from the food. But the oven/bbq is red hot first and then they pop in the pies on the far side to the embers. Saw it on the telly. Actually twas a show from SF and filmed in one of the wine valleys. You need a stone that can take heat, or a ceramic.

          Yeah, very odd indeed about the hound. She just sniffs it and turns her head to one side like a sulky child, I’m NOT eating that. Usually she’s like your girl and is dialed up with a sorta hopping glee. ‘I’m gonna get me a bit, I’m gonna get me a biiii-it, I’mmmm gonna get me a beeee-aaa-tttttt’.

          • Kimberly says:

            The pizza stone is not something I’ve acquired…yet. Good ones are quite pricey and so I haven’t justified it for the handful of times I might use it. I guess if it can be used on the grill in addition to the oven it might increase the number of times used. The idea of putting the dough right on the grill sounded good flavor wise, but the logistics are an entirely different matter.
            I wonder if it’s the smell of the char that turns her off.

            • Ed says:

              I think I’ve had about every kind of fruit or vegetable grilled at one time and I can say, there wasn’t a bad one among them. I sometimes grill peaches to serve with ice cream as a desert. Nectarines would be awesome too but not something we can find all the time down here.

              I’ve never tried pizza on a grill mostly due to the convenience of it. But with a baking stone, I’m positive it would work well especially when it is too hot to fire up the stove inside. My problem was always getting the pizza off the peel and onto the stone when the temperatures were screaming hot. I always ended up taking my perfectly formed pie and almost dumping it onto the stone, that is until I got a pizza peel with a fabric conveyor on it for a birthday. I can pick up a fully loaded pizza just as neat as you can please and deposit it on a screaming hot baking stone and loose not a single topping off the edge.

  4. Ed says:

    I’ve had a couple gas grills with lava rock over the years and for the most part, I always just put the lava rock on the burners. I stopped doing that for a couple reasons. I know the lava rock didn’t add any flavor and I think any benefit from even heating was marginal at best. However, I think the real drawback is that they keep moisture/grill juices up next to the burner causing it to rust faster. On the last one I ditched them altogether and thought that the burners held up a lot better to degradation.

    • Vincent says:

      Yeah, I noticed that about the liquid not evaporating off.
      But do you have those inverted V things. On mine it’s just one big one but I saw that the huge instruments, it’s a series of angle irons reflecting the big one I have. They’re supposed to but the drips and form smoke. I’m not sure they’re working because of the wind.

  5. Ed says:

    I do have those inverted V things. My grill is a four burner and I have one for each burner. I’m not sure of the exact purpose of them other than to help protect your burners from dripping grease and stuff.

Comments are closed.