Hawthorn or Maytree flower.

DSC_4427-1

Image | This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hawthorn or Maytree flower.

  1. Kelly says:

    These really are such lovely little blooms! Do they last long when picked? I can just imagine young girls wanting to make wreaths of them to wear in their hair.

    • Vincent says:

      I’ve never brought them inside. And you know I’ve never seen them on anyone in that way of hair adornment. But I seem to remember something from Romania and Bulgaria, only seem to remember.

  2. Kimberly says:

    Very pretty little flowers. I bet the entire tree in bloom is something to see.
    I just read that it’s considered a faerie tree. I thought your link in the other post was in reference to the double exposure. 🙂 Did I miss the tree?

    • Vincent says:

      Yes, all in bloom is quite something. But I’ve not managed to photograph them, so far, in a way that grasps the impact.

      It was :-D, but I’ll include that bit too.

      I’m fairly convinced that the cultural memory with the plant remembers a tool of colonisation by the Catholic Church. Or even Rome. During the crusader period huge tracts of land was devoted to flocks of sheep. Owned by the monasteries, and empty of people. I believe this plant was imported to allow for hedging the sheep inside fields.

      • Kimberly says:

        I only just realized that there are loads of little buds too. The tree must just be covered when they all open up. They look kind of low and dense which would make for good, natural fencing.
        Is it related to your blackthorn?

        • Vincent says:

          No, not related at all. This one if from the area of the Caucasus. Eastern Turkey/Armenia. The blackthorn is native.
          And yeah, they fill the tree/bush is a cascade of little white flowers. As you see here though the green of the leaf dilutes the white. Visually though it has a powerful impact. They have a lovely delicate scent too.

  3. Sage says:

    Lovely photo!

Comments are closed.