Bluebells and Cherry.

DSC_3765-1 DSC_3786-1

This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Bluebells and Cherry.

  1. Kelly says:

    These are beautiful – I especially like the cherry. Is it a tree? Bush? Like where the fruit comes from or an ornamental?

    • Vincent says:

      Entirely ornamental. And actually quite a large tree. Well for a cherry anyway. Say 60′, and festooned with pink cascades like that. It’s so filled that you cannot really photograph it so far back you need to stand.

  2. Kimberly says:

    Oh, spring flowers are just beautiful. Their colors almost glow don’t they?!?! I love when the cherries are in full bloom and look like they are covered in cotton candy. Gorgeous!! Are these growing wild in the areas you walk or are they part of a garden?

    • Vincent says:

      In London I lived near Oxford Gardens, a road lined with cherries.

      I suspect the Bluebells are wild, the cherry, no. I suspect it -they, there’s a few of them-was planted 1950’s ishy.

      • Kimberly says:

        That’s Notting Hill, no? I think you’ve mentioned living there. Having only visited that area a couple of times, my opinion is limited, but I did enjoy staying in there. It reminded me a little of Brooklyn. The colorful row houses, little markets/shops, and the gardens, what a nice place to live in the city.
        We have a few cherry blossoms around, mostly in botanical gardens and parks. When I lived in New England, they were everywhere, along with the apple blossoms. Just breathtaking. I’ve got a giant pampas grass bush/tree thing that grows between my house and the neighbor’s. It is ugly about 9 months of the year so I have contemplated removing it and replacing it with a pretty blooming tree. We have ornamental plums that have a nice bloom and seem to be more conducive to our weather. The crate mertle also has a pretty bloom, but it’s a pretty ugly tree the rest of the year. I’d take a cherry blossom over any of them, if only they’d grow without water. 🙂

        • Vincent says:

          I closed one eye 🙂 to see if I could picture the garden you have, and to see if I could give any suggestions/advise. I don’t really know how your house is orientated. Nor, if it’s on a north facing slope. But in general I’d rip out the pampas. It’s ugly 99% of the time and a collector of dirt and litter. And in my opinion gravel would be better, and I’m what’s considered in the industry as a plantsman (someone who’d plant a shrub in your ear).
          The problem you have is that something big is thirsty and something shade forming tree-wise will be monocotyledon and therefore will render your cute form into a snot forming spring regularly geysering shite on a massive arc.
          What you might try is an Olive. They are relatively fast growing when young. And yes they give shade, you’ve seen them. And they will not just grow but thrive with you. And yes they are monocot, but you can pinch off a few leaves and put them into a smoothy. They’ve an anti-fungal property too btw.

          Yep, Notting Hill. It was only getting chi-chi back then. You could still sit in a workmans cafe to a 14 inch plate. A weeks worth of food. It was also filled with real ethnic fooderies. They weren’t restaurants, well they were, but primarily a Spanish for the Spanish not for some City Trader and his trophy girlfriend, and so on. It was always a delight to bring a new GF and see her rock a little on her bum so to settle into the seat and hear her square her feet on the floor. It’s the female version of the man stretching his jacket and opening a notch on his belt. It also meant she was relaxed enough with me too. 🙂

          • Kimberly says:

            Ha! I had to look up monocotyledon for the rest of that sentence to make sense. Yes, I do not need a snot geyser, that’s for sure. 😉 The olive tree is not something I had ever thought of. I’ve seen them in orchards, in Italy, but did not realize they actually do quite well here. I’m far enough away from the ocean though, that it might be too dry. But all the websites say that they are good trees for our weather and especially in drought landscaping.
            The last time I was in London was at least 10 years ago. It seems to have gotten even more trendy since then. The price of a 400 sqft flat for half of a million pounds…OUCH!

  3. Sage says:

    Absolutely beautiful!

Comments are closed.