A still life, and one I think Sage might enjoy.

DSC_3644-1DSC_3609-1

This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A still life, and one I think Sage might enjoy.

  1. Kelly says:

    What is the building?

    The flower is lovely. Was the black background photoshopped or natural somehow?

  2. Vince says:

    A Scottish Calvinist church. Click on it. The name is over the door.

    Natural, I isolated the spray with a light . it’s everything else that’s dark.

  3. Kimberly says:

    The church is interesting. The architecture makes it seem like a courthouse or something, not a church. Is that common for a Scottish church? Is it still being used?
    The flower is pretty. I

    • Vincent says:

      That’s what I wanted to ask Sage, him being in the business as it were. And no, not being used, nor do I know when it closed. The Wesleyan’s were just down a bit, left of the photo and behind me.

      Yes, the flower is the Black Thorn. 🙂

      • Kimberly says:

        Black thorn? A very ominous tree with such a delicate little flower. Isn’t that what a shillelagh is made of?

        • Vincent says:

          Yep, that’s a fella. I did think you’d be amused. The original fighting stick had a fist sized knot on one end.

  4. Sage says:

    I wasn’t sure if that was a church or not until I read the comments (and then found it was a Calvinist one)… It actually looks like they stuck the entryway to the Panatheon on a very nondescript building. Were these Ulsler Presbyterians (or Scot-Irish)?

    • Vincent says:

      I suspect it is actual Scottish people. The building behind it is called the Manse. What I don’t know is if it was built for the Presbyterians.
      I’ll have a ring about the place and see if I can get more info. I thought you might have some, for the Greek bit anyway.

      • Sage says:

        Normally the manse is a term used within Presbyterian circles for “parsonage” or where the pastor lives (for those churches that still provide them). Too live behind the church would be way too close.

  5. Ed says:

    I’ve seen lots of unusual churches but never one like that. It is like a replica of the Parthenon was built and then later someone built a building inside of it. I never tire of seeing pictures of buildings in your country that were built before where I live was even a state in the United States.

    • Vincent says:

      We have a good lot here that have columns. It was a bit of a thing in the 1700’s. But what somewhat unusual are the capitals on the columns are Ionic which by then was seen as very Republican, of the French variety. Things in the USA had moved Imperial Rome and their Composite Order by then.

Comments are closed.