Guacamole

Guacamole is the new food of choice for a spread on my breakfast toast. I’d eaten it ages ago, and I mean really ages ago, and thought it was like eating soft slightly odd smelling soap. But, lately the local shop has had an offer of two for 50c, and I was thinking that using olive oil on my toast wasn’t the very best thing that I decided to give it a go. My first effort wasn’t the best as I’d only half the needful. But once I got the basics I find I’ve made something quite edible. I went with the limes, a hot chili, cumin an a few cloves of raw garlic. That I’ll change next time for raw is a bit much, but roasted will do I think. Anyways, I cannot say I’m fully converted. They’re not something if they vanished off the face of the earth I’d be bereft. On the other hand when they get cheap again I won’t dismiss them totally. The yellow fellow is a Cowslip. Primula veres or Primula officinalis, St. Peter’s herb or Petrella. DSC_3600-1

This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Guacamole

  1. Kelly says:

    I love guacamole, though I’ve never thought of having it on toast at breakfast. I find avocados quite versatile and a great addition to many things. (I have a post about avocado hummus scheduled soon).

    I sometimes gussy it up with add ins, but usually opt for the basic lime, garlic, and a little salt and lemon pepper.

    • Vincent says:

      As I say I’m not over fond, but neither am I totally agin-it now either.

      • Vincent says:

        I see no reason why sundried tomatoes. Or those tomatoes you dry out a bit in the oven. Wouldn’t work quite well too.

        • Kelly says:

          I’ve bought the sundried tomatoes and used them in my stir fry – added them at the same time with the garlic and shallots, to hydrate them a bit. They’re quite good.

          I don’t mind a little fresh tomato in my guacamole occasionally, but prefer it without.

          • Vincent says:

            I used it as a thickener last light for some of those Mexican pockets. I had a bit more liquid in the pan that I like but if I poured it out I’d lose all my spices and herbs.
            yeah I was thinking after that the hard sundried ones mightened work so well. To be honest though, once this batch is used I’ll wait til next year before using it again. Weeeeel, maybe in the heights of summer.
            You do crank up the weight eating it though.

  2. Ed says:

    I have never put it on toast but I do put it in sandwiches fairly often. For toast, I mainly go with unhealthy stuff like jams and butter. Perhaps the healthiest thing (and it isn’t that much healthier) I use hazelnut spread or just plain honey.

  3. Kimberly says:

    Not having ever been a fan of avocado (blasphemy here in CA) guacamole is not a food I can comment about with any positive thoughts. I can’t ge past its mushy green visual or it’s mushy texture. But that seems to be a minority opinion, around here anyways. My Mexican restaurant dining companions enjoy my dislike as I always as for the guac on the side, and they enjoy the extra for themselves. I don’t want it even touching my meal. 🙂
    Back in the 90s(ish) avocados got a bad wrap due to their high fat content. But since the low/no carb mindset, they’ve definitely seen a regrowth in popularity. They’ve since been identified as a healthy fat and rather good for you.
    Enjoy your creations with it!

  4. Sage says:

    I will have to try guacamole on toast–I do think it would be good.

    • Vincent says:

      To be honest with you, I thought that’s what it was for. The other evening I made those Mexican wraps with strips of chicken and put a dessertspoon full on it and spread it out. Now that worked quite well because it was hot, I think.

  5. Kimberly says:

    This past week, Chipotle, one of our fresh-mex chain restaurants, released their guac recipe. They are well known for it, but also charge an arm and a leg for it. I believe you aren’t a fan of cilantro, but you might like everything else. 🙂 Plus the write up is kind of funny…
    http://www.eater.com/2015/5/4/8545771/chipotle-guacamole-recipe-cinco-de-mayo

    • Vincent says:

      To be honest, I’m over it. Call it a aberration. While I wasn’t correct years ago, neither was I missing much. 😀

Comments are closed.