A B&W

Very busy at the moment making extra-large frames 70cm x 96cm. Once of the main problems being a semi handy fellow with a saw or a chisel is one over-engineers things. I know I’m doing it, but I cannot help myself. The thing is if you aren’t doing something on a very regular basis you’d not know ‘just’ what’s needed. I remember back in the day when non-pros would build patios they would make it strong enough to park a tank or a jet.

I shot this coming back from the shop yesterday.

DSC_3521-1

 

This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A B&W

  1. Kelly says:

    What great shot! It reminds me of something out of a Hitchcock movie. Real atmosphere!

    • Vincent says:

      It’s one of the very few houses that wasn’t developed in the late madness.

  2. Kimberly says:

    🙂 There’s nothing wrong with being particular about things when you are building, but it’s sure to take longer. The more you do them you’ll probably start to become a pro at it. Although, after building the frames, these or the earlier ones, can they be used again for the same size photo or are they built around a set photo? I’m just curious if once you’ve built them they can become part of an inventory that can be used multiple times.
    It’s a neat photo. I like the look of the column and gate intertwined with the brush.

    • Vincent says:

      I don’t mind the particular, it’s the building of a frame sufficient to hold a stained-glass window for a bit of paper of a few grams. The thing is I reckon the glue would hold but I’m doweling the mortise with 6mm hardwood dowels. In truth I should’ve got thing called a biscuit, a tongue of hardwood one inserts into both sides of the join. But I forgot about them. 😀
      I’ve decided to shoot that house at least once a month. There’s something about it, a sort of lonely isolation, a decaying elegance and also a slight feel of savagery to it that I’ll bring out yet.
      Well I’m certainly getting a second go with the ones I made for the library. And I think theses will go again too. I made them with little that would impinge on any subject contained within them. I could easily have gone for very decorated carving but it wouldn’t be as versatile, I believe. Note the coda to that last sentence.

      • Kimberly says:

        Reading the building bit is a bit like Charlie Brown and the rest of the Peanuts’ Gang listening to adults talking, wah wah wah wah. I can’t even pretend that I know what you are talking about. 🙂 So, I hope you are enjoying it anyhow, and leave it at that.
        I do like the idea of shooting the house on a regular basis. Just the change in light from month to month will make for some interesting differences let alone anything else you capture. That would be a nice display in itself.

        • Vincent says:

          You know the stretcher wedge in the corner of a ready-made canvas, a biscuit is a bit like that. I can’t really go any further without getting detailed about ‘tabs and slots’, inserting and shoving, and other such terms that are loaded with ripe double ententes and with no ambiguity whatsoever :-D.
          Yeah I was thinking something on evolution with the house. I haven’t hardened on a theme but there’s one forming.
          You still on holidays ?. And is Murphy still with you ?.

          • Kimberly says:

            Ha! I do get the double entendres.
            Yes, still on break. Murphy went home today (I guess yesterday actually), and it was time. Rigby had had enough of being a good hostess. 🙂 She’s very happy being the only dog again. Spent a couple of hours last night and most of this evening at the car dealership! Is it as painful as a process there as it is here?!?!?!
            Is there an interesting history behind the house or has it just caught your eye as a good subject?

            • Vincent says:

              Yeah, car buying is a stressful game anywhere. It would help a good deal if there wasn’t an under lying feeling of being conned. I simply think it’s a question of shopping around. Best of luck. And a big hug in sympathy.
              And don’t be afraid to deploy the puppy’s. Use what you’ve got woman to level the playing field. 🙂

  3. Ed says:

    I’ve got a Bosch biscuit joiner and I love that tool. It makes simply joinery so fast and easy. I’ve made lots of frames over the years using biscuits and wood glue and I’ve never had one come apart.

    The one thing I lack is a glass cutter so I could size my own glass. However I have a shop here in town that does it for just a couple bucks so it never seemed worth it to have to store the glass somewhere it wouldn’t break until I was ready to size it.

    • Vincent says:

      Yeah a joiner would be nice. But the truth is I’d use it so little it would be a waste. I reckon I’d get more use out of a pin narrow chisel. The ones I’ve got are just that bit too wide to rake out from 4mm drilled holes.
      I’ve a straight tile cutter that can be used for glass. But what I’d really like is to learn to make the stained glass windows with the lead.

  4. Ed says:

    I read the blog of someone who does stained glass and has written about it in the past. You can find a link to it in my sidebar. Her blog name is Edifice Rex. Truly it doesn’t look that difficult and doesn’t require a lot of tools to become proficient in it. I think the hard part is the artistry of arranging the glass pieces.

    One of my guilty pleasure tools is a dedicated mortising machine. It makes nice clean mortises in one go so I don’t have to worry about chiseling. But, it definitely gathers dust between uses and spends most of its time below my workbench. I think I’ve used it a half dozen times in all the years I’ve owned it. You don’t want to know what that works out in a per mortise price!

    • Vincent says:

      Yes, you can get the lead pre-formed in that H shape easily enough. And I think the Art is a question of confidence and big strokes. No point cutting it if you cannot see it, so it has to be at least three fingers wide. I think space is the biggest issue for you’d need a huge table to lay it out. It, being anything of any size.

      I saw a chisel a while back. Japanese I think it was. But it was nearer to a surgical instrument than a woodworking one. It was about as thick as a knife and the edge was maybe 1/3-1/2 of an inch. The blade bit was perhaps three-ish inches back from the edge and then a bar and then the handle.

Comments are closed.