Spring is springing.

Pussy Willow Yellow Gorse or Furse Early Plum

This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Spring is springing.

  1. Kelly says:

    Wow! I love the way that first one came out. Great perspective!

    • Vincent says:

      Thank you. I pointed straight up. It was the only way I could get it. Some of the real brightness had gone from the sky otherwise I could never have gotten it.
      It’s really good to see the new growth, really good.

  2. Ed says:

    Really love that first one and as always, all of them are well beyond anything I could do. Well done!

    • Vincent says:

      Thank you. I like how the 50mm f1.8 dealt with the gorse (2nd) too. I was expecting it to throw the thorns out of focus more than it did, softer really. But that’s weirdly disturbing.
      In truth, the first one is my favorite too. A Pussy Willow btw.

  3. Sage says:

    Beautiful photos–Spring is coming here, too.

    • Vince says:

      Thank you. We’re not quite there yet but I can feel it and see it with the odd burst of bud.

  4. Kimberly says:

    They are all great. The perspective on that first one is really cool. And the cropping on the little white one enhances its delicateness. Very nice. And can we talk about the moon shot in the header!?!?! That is something. Is that a new one too? I like it a lot, especially in that long, thin space.
    What did you do with the 2nd one to blur some and not the others? It almost looks as if the thorns are spinning.
    We had spring 2 months ago and now hitting record temps over the last couple of weekends. A bunch of my spring flowers started to bloom and then lost all their petals due to the heat. I had hoped to get out with the (twice-repaired) camera over my break and see the poppies, but they are dropping like flies – don’t know if I’ll get there in time.

    • Vincent says:

      The banner is the eclipse from the other day. It occurred at 9:20am ish. I was ready for it with tripods, filters and holders. lenses to get different feels. And what happened. It was covered in clouds. That was the only break. Plus the shot was taken handheld with no filter. the at precisely 10:30am, after any possibility of a clear shot the cover cleared and we had an LA day of sun.
      I’m going to try and get the last one a bit better by tripodding the camera and using the shutter release. I think it could be sharper. It seems I may have missed focus a bit. It’s always possible when making a photo of such a tiny flower. It’s about the size of a one of your fingernails. It’s a plum btw.
      The Gorse/Furse, and the spinning thorns. The blur happens when the lense has a low f-number. It’s how people can be separated from a crowd of others. In general, the smaller the number, the less dept of field. There’s a Zeiss at f.7, and manual focus. People lust after it. It’s for film, but that doesn’t stop people.

      If you go out with it in your hand you’ll use it. A little switch will be thrown in the head and while you mightn’t get the flowers you want you might just see another genera entirely that grips you. Get a strong point and shoot lanyard and attach it to the side of the camera that’s your dominant side. And remove the advertising hoarding. You don’t have a huge camera that you need something you could tow your car with. Plus, it just long enough to really hurt you. When you are traveling get a sling that will have it close to your hip. You can get them for a couple of Yoyos in the States. The only real thing that Canon or Nikon strap does if ensure you hit the camera off the ground every time you bend down or whack yourself in the chest if you have it short.
      Those lanyards can be wrapped over the wrist and about the hand such you can actually let the thing off. And at half a pound in weight isn’t any strain.

      • Kimberly says:

        Oh what fun with the eclipse. Murphy’s Law on the clearing after the fact?!?! 🙂 It’s a nice photo, and I think the clouds actually make it that way.
        I agree with you about keeping the camera with me. It’s a habit I am not in yet, but I do think that will get me out using it more. It seems to be working now, but I want to really USE it before the warranty expires in June to make sure it is in fact repaired.
        I don’t use the Canon strap but a strap that was purchased separately. It can be worn around the neck or cross body. Hadn’t heard of the sling before, but it looks like it would definitely be more comfortable than wearing around the neck.

        • Vincent says:

          Go to someplace like the Getty or another museum that’s generally dark inside. Someplace that allows you to photograph their exhibits. I don’t know if you can process RAW files. If you can’t set the camera to JPEG and allow it do the work.
          If you’ve any questions don’t be afraid to ask.

Comments are closed.