Inside Kilcooley Abbey

Kilcooley Abbey. In the last photo the knight sleeping on top of the line of bishops has a dog at his feet. These photos are taken at ISO6400, and at f9.0. I could’ve come down to f4.0 but I wouldn’t have the sharpness if I did.
I’m still kinda amazed at the sheer ability of the new camera to form images in seriously difficult situations.

DSC_2839 DSC_2840 DSC_2841
Oh, there’s a little riddle in one of the pictures, and I’ve performed a slight misdirect. An ability to count won’t help but a Scot and a Staff might.

Update hint; If I say the first guy under the sleeping knight is carrying keys.

This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Inside Kilcooley Abbey

  1. Sage says:

    These turned out great especially for so high speed. No clue as to the riddle.

    • Vincent says:

      I know I really should put them into B&W. But I thought to show just what it could do.

      On the riddle. Of anyone I thought you’d get it, you being in the business as it were. Albeit, a different firm. Try enlarging it.

  2. Kelly says:

    I love photos of places like this!

    • Vincent says:

      What I find fascinating is they are 700-800 years old. That and the style of the art.

  3. Kimberly says:

    What an interesting place. That first picture with the flying buttresses and the green is wonderful. I bet you could have spent hours photographing it.
    I am feeling dumb though, cuz I have no clue on the riddle, even after your update. 🙂 Is it something to do with your editing of the photos or the abbey itself?

    • Vincent says:

      The green is an algae that comes from people. it’s a rather famous abbey given it’s age and given Henry 8th dissolved the thing 500 years ago..

  4. Vincent says:

    Ok. The riddle.
    if you click and embiggen the tomb with the sleeping knight with the dog you’ll see a line of figures. Over their heads are their names. Simon Peter, with his keys to the Kingdom. Andrew, holding the salter cross of Scotland upon which he was crucified. James, the Great, with the quarterstaff of the pilgrim. And so on.
    Where I thought it was a riddle just looking at it was that there’s only 10.

    • Kelly says:

      Okay, I can’t make out all the names. If it’s the twelve, who is left out? Judas, I’m sure, and ??

      • Vincent says:

        Generally you can read up to the second James (Iacobus). The Pilippus, Philip. Holding the bread. Bartholomew is easy. The Jude Thaddeus. I can’t read that or the next. But Jude iconography has the method of his martyrdom, the Axe.
        It’s only surmise as yet but I’d say the last is Matthew, so missing is Simon the Zealot.
        I’ll try to get up to photograph it again, and with a tripod and filters next time. That should remove all issues. And I may even bring a few sheets of paper and a but of charcoal, just in case.

        • Vincent says:

          I called up there today and its Simon that’s second last, with Thaddeus last.

Comments are closed.