Meditation

Awaiting Godotte.

This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Meditation

  1. Kimberly says:

    Awwww, she’s so cute! It looks like she could explore for hours…as long as you’d let her anyhow. Does she come home wonderfully exhausted after her adventures out? Rigby on a leash doesn’t wear out nearly as much as Rigby in the open and on her own. I took her to some friends who have a new place out of town with some acreage. She and their dog ran and ran and ran and sniffed and rolled around in stuff. When I got home that night, she could barely make it in the door without napping. It was great! It’s nice Jess gets to do that often. She probably hates the leash. 🙂

    • Vincent says:

      Yep, hours.
      I got a new tripod that’s half the weight of the old one and I was testing it out. I only intended to shoot her for a few moments but became almost hypnotized with her back and forth.
      Delighted to hear Rigby got to run, free they become a different dog entirely. They flop with that air of saying ‘I’m pooped’. Do you have to worry about rattlesnakes and such.

      On the leash. She on it soooooo rarely she pulls to the point of choking herself. Then has a fit of coughing and then back to straining again. I told you the story about the harness. The one where they are held about the torso and the lead comes off from ‘tween the shoulder blades. She shimmies herself out of it. It’s like watching a woman taking off her bra under her jumper.

      • Kimberly says:

        Ha ha. 🙂
        Yah, I meant to mention that the filming seemed smoother, thus the tripod. Is it something you’ll bring out with you often, since it’s lighter, or is it still a pain being one more thing to carry?
        No worry about rattlesnakes this time of year, thankfully. The hot hot summer though is a different story, especially out where we were. The dog she played with has been trained in rattlesnake avoidance. They did manage to dig up something gross and unrecognizable to bring back to the house though.

        • Vincent says:

          When I say I got a new tripod, I mean mine less than 20 mins.
          The old one is OK, if a bit heavier. Of course it makes a difference, but not as much as you’d think. It’s a case where for tack sharp landscapes you need long exposures, so a dark filter and a tripod. If you decide to go to a place/spot/vista you’ll schlep it along with pretty much everything, but if you’re simply out hiking and have the camera you tend not to because it’s shape is wrong. It’s awkward. Maybe if it had a longer sling it might be better, I’ll have to check that.

  2. Sage says:

    A dog and his nose! That appears to be a lovely road for a walk.

    • Vincent says:

      The road is in a wood. It’s a circuit of just two miles.
      It’s the bane of my photographic existence for I cannot get a good enough shot that grips the atmosphere. And I must’ve taken 1000 trying. Lucky it wasn’t film eh.

  3. Ed says:

    Reminds me of watching my dog wander endlessly for hours. They never seem to run out of places to explore, only energy, eventually!

    I have a nice tripod that compacts down to about 16 inches in length and about 3 inches in diameter which fits nicely in my day pack that I take along hiking. I’m sure it weighs less than a pound since it is all aluminum and plastic. But I hardly ever take it out these days. Back when I bought it, I used to do lots of landscape photos and though I still do these days, they are a lot more off the cuff in nature and not artistic like yours. Should I ever get back into doing artistic stuff, I will have to start packing it again because they make a lot of difference.

  4. Kelly says:

    Jess is a star! I enjoyed watching her roaming about here. Dogs are such fun. I couldn’t get a good look at her leg, but it must be healing since she didn’t seem bothered by it at all.

    I’m fortunate to live where my outside seven can roam to their hearts’ content. They all wear “hunter orange” collars to stay visible as three of them could easily be mistaken for a deer at a glance. Fortunately, I don’t have to ever put them on a lead since I’m not sure any could walk on one. Alice and Mabel are a different story. Neither wears a collar (I posted about a tragic event at our house years ago, therefore no collars anymore), but both have the harnesses you mentioned above for when going to the vet, kennel, etc. Alice is pretty good on one, but Mabel not as much. If I get it pulled tightly enough, neither can squirm out of it.

Comments are closed.