An internal debate.

What does one do. Await the total easement of the tendon tightening in my ankle or force it, on the principle that pampering it isn’t a good thing.
Well I decided to hike the mountain this morning. It was a truly lovely day and I missed last week, and really missed it.
We’ve had the oddest November ever. It’s warm, well not everyday, but certainly warmer that any November I’ve experienced. And it was even warm 2000 ft above sea level.
I had a chat with a 71-year-old man who was walking two rather boisterous dogs whom Jessy decided needing put in their place. It was really hilarious seeing my one stretching her head to dogs four times her size to chastise them.

The photo is of Arctic Snipe that are over-wintering here. These birds are Jessy’s favorite to chase for they fly extremely fast about a yard above the ground for maybe one hundred yards before they loft. Then Jessy, who has somehow marked where they  lodged, returns there.

DSC_0415

DSC_0415-2

This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to An internal debate.

  1. Kelly says:

    What a fun shot of the birds! You caught them at just the right moment.

    It’s always interesting (and sometimes a bit nerve-racking (or is that nerve-wracking?) watching dogs meet and interact. The dynamics in my yard changed drastically with the addition of the last stray we took in (Sam).

    • V.H says:

      Ta, there’s a Jessy behind that tussock on the left, middle distance.

      I think generally if it’s a one to one things are OK. Neither are brave enough to push things. But Jessy wasn’t fighting them, she was snapping near their face. But they were lovely happy goofs.

      Are things getting a bit odd in your yard ?.

      • Kelly says:

        Well it doesn’t help that it’s deer season, meaning my dogs haunt the nearby “gut pile” and bring home all sorts of goodies to fight over. Ugh. I do see lots of playing going on, but there’s still some pecking order to be settled. I hoped Sam’s recent neutering would settle him a bit and it may still. It’s just insanity on our part having seven dogs running loose in our yard, plus the two inside that do their best to aggravate from their side of the fence.

  2. Kimberly says:

    Pampering isn’t always a good thing, especially if it hasn’t done any good up until now. In my opinion (for what it’s worth) unless “it” is broken, using it is better than not. Doctors will often tell you to just stay off of it or rest, but that tightens everything up and can cause more problems than before. Chiropractors will tell you that. Moving, even if it’s carefully or slowly, is better than not. Did you feel ok after the hike? Did you stretch?!?! 🙂
    That’s quite a picture of the birds. All that movement but it’s still so clear. I bet she comes home after the hike, chasing the birds, and playing with the dogs tuckered out. A tired dog is a wonderful thing. 71 years old trekking up the mountain! That’s great.

    • V.H says:

      It was absolute agony half way up and screechingly so on the way down. And yep I did a good bit of stretching but the problem was I don’t have the range of movement I usually have. There was little sideways flection and that was actually a bit of a worry for any silly slip could easily smash a joint. It was pretty darn painful for a few hours after too, but now is a good bit better than it was before the trip. Mind you that might have something to do with the sulpadine. 🙂
      Aye, the sheep are off the mountain so she can roam freely. So all you get of her is a glimpse of a back rump vanishing over a ridge. Or this really smiley face with tongue lolling coming to visit.
      Yes, it grasped focus on those birds. I was lucky though, they wheeled immediately they saw me but that has them face on.
      I wonder if I should crop it a bit ?.

      • Kimberly says:

        I can see why you’d maybe want to crop it, and it would look good. I’d hate to see those two outlier birds on the right and left to get axed. They’re kind of the yin and yang of each other. Oh, wait, is the 2nd shot the cropped shot? I like that one. The birds are even clearer in it.
        So sorry on the foot. I hope you don’t find that it’s worse in the morning.

        • V.H says:

          Yep, cropped. I went in just after writing that bit in the last comment.
          You can kinda hear the two either side saying, “OK Jim, you break left, I’ll go right. That’ll confuse him”.
          There’s more movement in the ankle this morning. Still tight though.

  3. Sage says:

    Interesting shots of those birds-they appear almost sci-fi like. And it appears to have been a good day for a hike.

    • V.H says:

      They are shot against a fog/cloud, that’s probably why the sci-fi feel.
      Yes, it was a good day.

Comments are closed.