Nikon D7000

I’ve committed to put on another exhibition in February and to give a series of lectures in a nearby community hall on basic photography.  Both of these meant I needed a new camera pretty much now. But this year has been quite costly one way or another and so getting a top of the line instrument will have to wait until next year.
It isn’t a catastrophe since the 7000 is a very good camera albeit being four years old in tech terms. I would say it’s five times better that the old one. And it will allow me to create some evening and night townscape shots in B&W.

In the photos below the ISO is 900 in the top one and 720 in the bottom one with the heifer. The difference is shocking quite frankly. I knew it would be good but they are usable up to 3200. And probably a bit more. I’ll check it tonight and see what it’ll do on stars.

DSC_8221

DSC_8204

This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Nikon D7000

  1. Sage says:

    I am still using (mostly) and old Nikon D-80 (except for when the conditions are such that I use a waterproof camera–ie, kayaking in the open water). I like the photo of your dog and the road.

    • V.H says:

      Yes, none really like water all that much. The D80 is very like the D7000. You could pick up the 7000 and seamlessly begin using it. I think you’d notice two things though. The snap of focus is so quick that it leaves you a bit stunned on the shutter button. I reckon if I’d some lenses like the f1.8 primes or f2.8 70-200mm I think it would truly be whizz-bang fast.

      I thought the dog on her own was a kinda lonely shot. But I took it just to test the camera under trees and when I viewed it it had come out quite well.
      But I simply couldn’t get that shot with the old one. We’re just too dark here at this time of year.

  2. Kelly says:

    Great subject matter in both shots.

    Camera talk is all foreign to me, so it’s too bad I can’t attend your lecture. I do look forward to seeing what photos you choose to exhibit this time.

    • V.H says:

      Thanks. She’s doing that point thing she does where she is off about fifty yards ahead.

      I think I’ll go smaller this time, and photos not canvas this time too.

  3. Kimberly says:

    Oh wow! That is exciting news, both the exhibit and the classes. Congratulations!
    You were shooting with a 3000 before? Am I remembering correctly? I bet you are enjoying the 7000! :). The photo of Jess is great and the cow is darling. I know I’ve said it before, but you take some beautiful walks. Have you thought about what you will present in your exhibit this time around? How fun to be planning for it again.

    • V.H says:

      Yes, the d3000. The thing is I learnt on a very limited instrument, not like yours. And I am not sure if it was a good or bad thing. But what can you do, it was the one I bought.
      They tell me it new, but I’m not so sure. You can see with the photos if you click on them that the default naming is up to 8000. I’d only just passed ten on my own a few weeks ago.
      I wanted to ask you about mounting. I’m thinking of backing them with heavy stiff card. If I actually frame in timber then it’ll become very costly very quickly indeed. I think there’s a claw fitting that will grip the back of the card.

      • Kimberly says:

        Do you think that’s what the number means?!?! My new camera did the same thing, starting in like the 3000s! I didn’t even think of it having already been used. I would hate to think that we’d both been sold used cameras. Could it be from the memory stick? I’m going to have to research that to make sure I haven’t been duped. It’s a lot of money for a “used” camera.
        All my canvas prints have the sawtooth hanger. http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_c_0_8?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=sawtooth+picture+hangers&sprefix=sawtooth%2Ctools%2C371
        They came with the prints and just pushed into the back without nails. But there are nail ones too. Then they just hang on the photo hangers that are like a dropped hook held by a nail. Does that make sense?
        I would think learning on equipment that doesn’t have all the bells and whistles would make you more competent on it because you’ve had to be. All the features and functions have kind of bogged me down (in my limited use) from just taking the darn picture.

        • V.H says:

          Find Auto-ISO, switch it on and set the max to 3200. Then put the app to two full stops above its minimum or f.8. The kit lenses are normally 3.5 to 5.6 mm. And the long one 4 to 5.6mm . Then dial in the shutter speed up to the focal length of the lens at what ever zoom you’ve decided. So on the small one keep above 1/80sec, and the long one over 350. That should keep you good until you want to get fancy and steering yourself. And put the thing in jpeg, the camera will do most of the processing then. And when you need you can take more and more control.
          I’m going to do some research myself on the numbers.

        • V.H says:

          If you put a new card into the camera then it’s likely there’s a problem. Seems I used a one I had in the old camera and so it started where I left off.

          • Kimberly says:

            I somehow missed this. I’m glad to hear that, as I hadn’t put two and two together with it with mine until you had a similar situation. A larger card was purchased alongside my new camera, but I think I did use my older/smaller one to start. Mine being “used” at 3,000 wasn’t nearly as bad as yours at 8,000. So it’s good that they really are new! 🙂

            • V.H says:

              Actually there’s a way you can do it in Photoshop. All modern DSLR -it seems- camera’s have two methods of counting files. One that you see readily like the naming of the file atop the photo, but one is really buried in the metadata. Google, ‘what’s my shutter count in photoshop’ should point up the method/s.

Comments are closed.