Moody graveyard, for the time of year.

DSC_0481

Image | This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Moody graveyard, for the time of year.

  1. Sage says:

    An appropriate All Saints Day photo

    • V.H says:

      Yes, I thought so. And the cracked tomb cover works a bit too I think for Halloween.

  2. Kimberly says:

    Oh yes, that is kind of eerie isn’t it. You’ve got to tell more about the middle of the photo. What are those things that look like a platform up on four bricks? If they are graves, they are quite creepy with their lopsidedness. 🙂 The cross on the right is quite nice, very pretty and looks to be in good shape. Is this site one that is very old or more recent in its use?

    • V.H says:

      Oh, the flat stones are tomb covers that aren’t really doing their job anymore. 🙂
      This is the graveyard at Kilree where I showed those two teachers. It’s one of the very few that are still surrounded with trees which would give some moody light I hoped.
      I suspect it’s not used much anymore but I cannot be fully certain about that.

      • Kimberly says:

        It took me a bit to respond to this because I was trying to figure out where Kilree is. I think when you wrote about it before I remember being confused when I looked it up last time but let it go as I’m often confused. 🙂 So Kilree and the Priory are in Kells? But that Kells is different than the one with The Book of and the Abbey…is that correct?

        • V.H says:

          Yes, different from the one with the book.
          Sorry, I must give better references when dealing with geographical locations.

          Kilree is two miles away from Kells ishy. And it was the place of the local big wig. Kil, Cil, Kill, Cill, all pronounced with the hard K. Translate into the place of. While the suffix Re render someplace near king. Usually the suffixes are the name’s of people. Kildare is Kill Darra. Use the Google earth program and then you have a better look for you’ll see photos.

          • V.H says:

            Most Irish place names have dual elements some even three when there’s a genitive aspect. The mountain I climb is a case in point Slieve (mountain) Na (of the) Mon(women). The word for women is somewhat irregular in the Celtic languages, some say reflecting reality. So if I was referring to the women of Scotland it would be Mna na h-Albinach, or Ireland Mna Na h-Eireann. And whatever you say about the mad baldy wan she sure can sing https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tt8p5AxJn18.
            Anyways. Most names here, Scotland and Wales are compound. But then it seems most are anyway, leastwise it’s valid in the languages I’ve an acquaintanceship.

          • Kimberly says:

            Oh no, it wasn’t your references that were my problem. I won’t bore you with the details of my process but when I saw that they were in/near Kells, my only reference was the “Book of” which seemed too far north of where I thought you were. But of course, you would know better than I where it was, so I left it alone. Anyhow, after scouring the www some sense was made! 🙂
            That is a beautiful song you linked. I’ve not heard it with words before, but do have memories of it from listening to the Chieftains’ RECORDS my dad used to play.
            See how I’m ignoring the “irregular” comment?!?! 😉

  3. Ed says:

    I love walking through graveyards and checking out the tombstones. I think it is unfortunate that modern graveyards are so bland when it comes to tombstones.

    • V.H says:

      I like them too. But the ones I really like are vastly older than this one. Near me we have grave slabs from crusader knights. But also we have megalithic tombs.
      I think the idea of the flat gravestone is a good one. Mostly because you can mow over them. I cannot think of the one in LA that you see in the films. But I really don’t like the military style for it attempts to even out what wasn’t valid in life. And really, if someone truly wants to put a Taj Mahal over a beloved wife who the heck am I, or anyone, to refuse a permit. What difference could it possible make beyond what’s sourced in envy. So while I like the ease of caretaking you get with flat stones, once upright it really doesn’t matter a hoot if they’re tickling the bottoms of 747 jets. Up is up.

  4. Kelly says:

    Whether celebrating Halloween, All Saints Day, or Día de Muertos… it’s the perfect photo. And perfect done in B&W.

    • V.H says:

      I’ve been doing a bit of work in B&W lately. And I thought it was an ideal subject matter. Plus it had the advantage of a few very different types, and era’s of grave furnature giving hints to the mindset of the erectors. But all very ‘sic transit gloria mundi’ but with hope.

Comments are closed.