Longmire

Longmire is a most unusual TV cop show. It’s filmed in a quasi reporter style with hints of John Ford, but not at the same time. Every so often you glimpse a beautiful mountain landscape that most associate with Wyoming but mostly it’s an endless dun shade of soil with an odd bleak dried piece of grass.
But I think it one of the best bits of TV I’ve seen in years.

This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Longmire

  1. Kimberly says:

    I started watching that recently too! Last summer, I caught up on the previous season(s), and then watched the most recent this summer. Yah, it’s a good one. I find it, hmmm, how do I put it…slow moving I guess compared to some of the other stuff that clogs up the tv schedule. It’s a thinking show and you have to pay attention so I often put off watching it because I know the effort it might take, but once I start I’m hooked into whatever episode it is. I think it’s been canceled though, with this past 2014 season being its last unless another Network picks it up and continues making it.
    Have you read any of the books its based on?

    • V.H says:

      Yeah, I can see how it would be canceled for it’s about the raw ordinary tragic stories. One story had a child of rape kill his father for the damage he’d done to his mother.
      A new run has started here so that’s why I’m commenting at all.
      The truth is for it to survive it needs a cult following. And another truth is with the way we view today it was doomed. I have umpteen channels but I view only about ten regularly. Most of my viewing these days is in bed on the tablet. Yeah, I’ve got teh TV on behind me when I’m on the PC but I’m not really attending to it. So in truth if the show vanished I’d not notice, except maybe a few years on when a rerun is on.

      • Kimberly says:

        That’s probably how most of us watch TV anymore. When it’s on here, it’s mostly background noise to my multitasking. There are certain shows that I end up rewinding over and over because I’ve missed most of it in the background. This is one of those, Mad Men is another.
        The most recent season of this one was more in-your-face action/drama-wise than the previous two. Maybe the producers were trying to save it from being canceled.

  2. Kelly says:

    I’ve never heard of it and know nothing about it…but now y’all have me curious. I’m guessing it was on one of the cable networks here?

    I haven’t watched a cop show in ages, but my favorite was always Homicide: Life on the Street. (enough so that I bought the entire run on DVD)

    • V.H says:

      It’s one of those shows you thank heavens it isn’t place anywhere near you for it would deliver a rep’ that would be very hard to overcome. Cow tipping is one thing but this is of a different degree altogether.
      It delivers a picture of unremitting sameness year in year out for people with a very narrow inner life. Ergo the crime.
      Oh just in case the local town and it’s hinterland wasn’t sufficient to provide the fodder there’s an Indian reservation within Sheriff Longmire’s bailiwick.

Comments are closed.