Driving into the skid.

If, for the next few months light conditions aren’t kind to my usual methods I think I’d better get used to rigging the camera in the car and shoot out of the window.
What I really need is a high spot over merging motorways where there’s a series of roundabouts. Anyway attempt No.1.

DSC_0176

This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Driving into the skid.

  1. Kimberly says:

    Oh fun! How did you do that?

  2. V.H says:

    Instead of opening the aperture to get more light I closed it. Then I used the shutter speed of thirty seconds. So the only thing registered are fixed ghostly buildings and the light from the car s and street lamps.

    • Kimberly says:

      I’ve seen city shots like this before but I always thought they were smoke and mirrors. I agree with Kelly – while everythjng looks so quiet and still and deserted the wild light says otherwise. These would be limited to nighttime shots? I’m assuming your grey days wouldn’t have quite the same effect?

      • V.H says:

        Mmm, you could. But you’d have to put filters before the lense so dark I expect it would be near welder’s glass. You see what you want is the streaks of light ergo a very slow shutter. Which would work here as in winter most people drive with dipped headlamps
        What you can do in daylight is remove all moving traffic by slowing the light to the sensor/film. Same idea really.

  3. Kelly says:

    I love the mood you captured with this shot!

    • V.H says:

      I’m not all that sure what that mood is though. Transience ?.

      • Kelly says:

        That might be a good word to use. In some ways it feels lonely, but then the movement from the light indicates it isn’t an empty street.

Comments are closed.