News and musings.

For a few years I managed to live quite well without a watch. It’s not as if there’s a shortage of time measuring mechanisms in one’s life. What with the computer, the nuker, the phone and the cooker. I wouldn’t be shocked had they managed to somehow to attached a timer to the charcoal BBQ.
Well, a few years ago I needed a cheap watch to complete a look with a suit and bought a €8 stainless steel jobby. Plain face with a black bezel. Anyhows it died yesterday. Today I went to buy another button battery to squeeze the last bit out of it and discovered it would cost €5 for two. Now at €8 the watch doesn’t own anything but something in me refused to accept that it could cost 2/3 the cost of the watch to replace an item measured in microns. So after spending a morning looking, I found a blister pack of 20 for €2. Now the chances of ever using all 20 is slim I feel I’m doing my bit for the planet keeping the watch going for another while.

Now, I’m one of those people who thinks the 2nd Amendment in the US is a good thing. I think it’s one of the pillars of a democracy for it recognizes that the individual citizen ‘is’ the State. Not beholding to the State. However, how the holy-moly handing an urban warfare weapon to a 9-year-old in any way fits to “A well-regulated militia, being necessary to the security of a free state, the right of the people to keep and bear arms, shall not be infringed”, is utterly beyond me. A 9-year-old child shouldn’t be in charge of a steak knife never mind a fricking Uzi.
And who the hell were they going to charge with a crime anyway. The 9-year-old ?.
Our radio and TV, not just Bloomberg and CNN, they seemed to find a series of nutjobs with a tenuous grip upon the English language leaving you convinced they would need supervision using a spoon.

I’m still awaiting my new walking boots from Amazon, the order went in on the 19th, they said they sent it last Sunday, it was due to arrive Thursday. Now they say if they haven’t arrived by September 5th they will send me another pair. I was rather looking forward to the new ones as since the 90s when Timberland had an eminence cachet I’ve secretly had a hankering. But really couldn’t justify to myself the premium price they attracted his side of the Atlantic. Friends from the USA are shocked when they see the prices.

This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to News and musings.

  1. Sage says:

    I’m with you on that Uzi… “Common Sense, the English language and the 2nd Amendment” would be an good topic for an essay

    • V.H says:

      It might, except an essay at least nods towards logical connections, however tenuous. But I was listening to a fellow who had his 6-year-old firing a .22 handgun. Who began wittering on about the American Revolution and how they’d still be a colony but for the plucky Dan Boone types in possession of their own weaponry, but making the connection to the kids today as if the red coats were on the cusp of invasion. But for.

  2. Kelly says:

    I have clocks in every room and almost always have my cellphone nearby. I still don’t like to leave the house without a watch on, but don’t feel quite as desperate for it on days at home. I blame it on my OCD. 😉

    As you know, I’m a supporter of the 2nd Amendment and own my fair share of guns, but geez….what were they thinking!? I’ve never shot a weapon like that (and have no real desire to), but even I have the sense to know a child isn’t going to be able to control it, especially in full automatic mode. She’ll be scarred for life emotionally.

    • V.H says:

      It just seems that any sort of basic sanity is missing and that those in authority within the NRA refuse to inform about the political realities. They just don’t get that certain things will not fly. And that involving babies with firearms amounts to child abuse.
      It one thing bringing a teen boy or girl out hunting/fishing to aid in the training of them in how to control and respect themselves. It’s another entirely with a child who cannot have the slightest awareness about the dangers.

      Oh, I’ve more timepieces than those connected with cooking. Frankly it’s a wonder the house doesn’t rock to the tic-tock of the clocks.

  3. Ed says:

    I think the Uzi incident is Darwinism at its finest. Obviously if the fellow believed that a 9 year old girl was going to be strong enough to counter the recoil of an automatic weapon, he was weak in the head and thus was naturally selected to be removed from this earth. My only sadness in this affair is the trauma that the nine year old girl must live with for the rest of her life because of her parents who also must be weak minded.

  4. Kimberly says:

    The problem I have with the 2nd amendment debate is that it seems to be an all or nothing argument. Those who want to address the issue of guns aren’t proposing NO ONE has guns, but proposing some common sense on who gets one and what can they have. I’m almost sure the writers of the 2nd amendment weren’t talking about uzis. But hey, at least you need a permit to legally own a gun. Any ding dong can have a kid.

    I hope your boots have arrived since the post! I’ve heard nothing but good things about timberland.

    Sorry for the late response…I’m catching up after being out of town (partially on the down low from work) for the holiday weekend. 🙂

    • V.H says:

      But it’s the common bit they are worried about. They see ownership as the only defense against the dictates of the majority. They aren’t afraid of foreign but domestic destruction of their way of life.

      Still no sign of the boots. They are coming with the Irish postal service which can be at best snails pace. I foresee a day when they are closed down, and very soon too. While we might need the post offices themselves, the delivery end of the business cannot play with their costs, as is.

      Oh yeah, Labour Day. The UK has a Bank Holiday on the last Monday in August but ours is the first Monday of the month.

Comments are closed.