Cahir Castle.

I loaded this one last night but I didn’t know what to add by way of comment. You see my feeling on sepia aren’t mixed, they are profoundly prejudiced. I’ve never really liked them, but what I was wondering if there was some merit in certain circumstances.
I know I have an emotional response to them.  They echo back to when I’d go with my grandfather to house clearance auctions where the owners had died or were moving to the UK or USA. There you’d see them torn from frames and strewn upon the floor. The frame had a value but the forgotten memories hadn’t.

DSC_8005

DSC_8006

Image | This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Cahir Castle.

  1. Kimberly says:

    It’s a nice shot of the castle. When I first saw it (before your writing) I actually thought it might be an older photo…but then my eyes dropped to the cars. I agree, I think of vintage when I see sepia. I like it in an ink or paint color, but it’s not one that you usually see on modern stuff.

    • V.H says:

      While walking around the complex I noticed there was no view that didn’t include some sort of modern something or other. Be that asphalt instead of cobbles, signs in the most garish post modern shapes and sizes. I just got to the point of saying embrace the darn stuff.
      Oh, it was the setting for http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Excalibur_(film)

      • Kimberly says:

        It’s pretty hard to photograph tourist-type sites without the modern conveniences being in the way. Inevitably there is something in the way of that perfect shot. I think especially the larger the subject – the further back you have to get – the more of a chance there will be something unwanted in the viewfinder. I’ll find myself waiting and waiting for a car or a body or what-have-you to move, but it’s useless most of the time. I agree, you just have to go with it. It’s still nice view of the castle. I only brought up the cars because that’s how I knew it wasn’t an older photo.
        Yes, I was reading about its role in the movie. It was kind of a big deal for Ireland’s film making and actors wasn’t it.

        • V.H says:

          That sign in the dead centre is the fee list for the car park. You see I don’t mind them farming the castle but dammit they could do it with a modicum of thought. That and the cars was why I went with the sepia, your eye is drawn to the walls first while in the colour the sky and the walls merge and the cars colour draws the eye. But in B&W, the red car becomes near black.
          It was at the time when the film was made, but beyond opening up an audience for many of the actors I don’t think it extended long after. We do get films in fits and starts. Where we have a glut and the services businesses and workers get greedy then it falls off to nothing. The Tudors was made here for instance, and game of thrones in made in Belfast. But I’ve not heard of much else going on.

          • Kimberly says:

            It’s almost like the people who decide where to put up the signs don’t have any sense of the view they’re blocking. And, like in the case above, it’s usually never just one that can be edited out, they put like 5-6 together in all shapes and sizes! I’m always wondering the same thing. Maybe it’s done on purpose so the attraction can keep its “rights” to the really GOOD pictures…who knows.
            Oh yes, I had read that about Game of Thrones. It is a craze here. People love it. I couldn’t get past the supernatural aspect of it, but it’s doing really well. The Tudors was one I followed and really enjoyed but hadn’t realized it was filmed there too. So when they panned the countryside or the coast of England it was really Ireland!?!? 🙂

            • V.H says:

              Well, I cannot say for certain. But I expect yes, all the landscape shots are of Ireland.
              You could be correct on the Rights thing, but somehow I am doubtful. That degree of forethought ?. Me I’d say that people just don’t see it.

              I’m not so bothered by Photoshop. Yes they went nuts for about ten years. But now you rarely see serious over editing of the Dali type. It’s normally done so you would never know.

  2. Kelly says:

    I think sepia has its place in modern photography, if anything just to set a mood.
    The cars do detract a bit from this, but not so much as to ruin the enjoyment. I like it.

    • V.H says:

      I’ll put in the original to show the problem. I could I suppose remove the cars, but the result wouldn’t be worth the effort. The real problem sits with the Heritage people who just don’t see the problem.

  3. Kelly says:

    Hmmm…well I think I prefer it in sepia.

    • V.H says:

      Beyond the typo in the last comment of mine. I agree. The colours are remarkably lacking in dimension and for something so imposing it’s truly amazing how they’ve managed it.

Comments are closed.