A where’s Wally

There are 4 climbers on the rock face on the other side of the lough. I thought I had photos that showed the scale of the landscape, but this is the only one that gives an idea.

DSC_7800

Jack Frost

This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A where’s Wally

  1. Ed says:

    It took me awhile but I found three of them.

    • V.H says:

      See what I mean about the scale of the cliff. If for the sake of evenness we say the climbers are 6’6″ or 2m tall.

  2. Kelly says:

    Well I must be blind. I’ve searched and can’t find any!

    • Kelly says:

      Okay…I just realized I could click yet again and make it even larger than with one click. I finally found at least two.

      • V.H says:

        They are in the shape of an upsidedown kite. I’ll point them out in the morning.

  3. Kimberly says:

    I had to make the photo larger and then found them. It is amazing to see the ant-sized people in comparison to the cliff. Did you climb too? That incline is pretty much vertical. 🙂
    How does one get themselves in there or to there? Do you park lake level and hike in/up? I noticed some roads leading in towards the lake in the aerial pictures on google.

    • V.H says:

      You get to about 5 klicks of the lake and then you hike in. But you can go round the rim relatively easily. And up all the way.
      I didn’t do that as I had all the gear and tripping over would be high on the chance scale. But I did have more shots from what you might call the horns.
      The lough is 1200 yards in the photographs in the first post, and maybe 1000 on this diagonal. Ishy.

      • Kimberly says:

        It’s really quite an interesting place. I was reading up on a corrie or cirque as I wasn’t familiar with the term. We do have some here in the states, but I’ve not seen one. They’re similar in shape to a caldera, like Crater Lake in Oregon, but that’s volcanic. I guess those are completely enclosed where this has an open or flatter end. So not really similar, just my only frame of reference. 🙂 I bet it was just fascinating to see – the size of it.

        • V.H says:

          I believe that they are a pressure gouge. Like if you punched a block of potter’s clay from above. Only with the forces delivered by the sequence of ice ages. They seem to be a function of our latitudes here, for you find them in Canada and Russia. Lower in latitude and you need to go up into higher mountain’s for you find them in the Alps.
          If you look at the last photo in the first post. The cliff you see at the very top of the shot is the front wall to the wall that the climbers are on. Taken from about 600ft. The surface of the lake is at 1255ft and the top of the cliff is at circa 2450ft with the top of the range about 500yds back from the corner at 2597ft.

Comments are closed.