A new technique, for me anyway.

If you want lovely, an almost patent, patina to your leather boots/shoes. What you do is get the polish and a soft cloth. Apply the polish evenly as you’d do normally. Then instead of allowing the polish to soak in for a while and then buffing the bejapers out of it. You plug in your hairdryer, crank it to the hottest setting and using the mouth shaped attachment you hold it about an inch from the leather. What you’ll see is the polish melding into the shoe leaving a shine you could shave in. This gets the stuff into the most tight of crannies. And if it forms a drip you simply blast it again.

This entry was posted in celtic and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A new technique, for me anyway.

  1. Kimberly says:

    I could have used that tip back in the day when I spent hours on end cleaning and polishing my riding boots before shows. My dad taught me the navy boot shine, and I could do it in my sleep. 🙂 A hair dryer trick sounds like it would have saved me gobs of time. How’d you figure that one out?

    • V.H says:

      I was watching a bit of the queens trooping of the colour and they were blackening the boots. Then they ran a thing like a kitchen flame for putting a crisp on cream broullet, I’ll have to lookup that one, over the polish.
      Well I am not putting flames near my boots so I thunk hairdryer. And, who caresses if it was the English, they don’t own it. 🙂

  2. Ed says:

    I don’t even own any leather boots anymore. I gave them up years ago for the weight savings of synthetics. But if I ever go back, I’ll have to give that a go.

    • V.H says:

      Oh, you’ll return alright. Whatever about the efficiency of synthetic the sheer snug comfort thet embraces the foot is worth it.

  3. Kelly says:

    It’s been quite awhile since I polished a shoe. This sounds like a clever idea.

Comments are closed.