Fair.

 

 

 

 

 

DSC_7627

 

Craft fair in Kilkenny City. 10:30am ishy.

People are setting up in place for a tourist rush in July and August. If you didn’t get your spot early you would be on the periphery away from the main throng.

This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fair.

  1. Kelly says:

    A colorful shot! Based on the clothing, it looks a little chilly.

    • V.H says:

      Noooo, not really. I had a meeting so was in a 3-piece light wool suit. Last week I’ve needed a coat.

      • Kelly says:

        Well I haven’t had on a jacket or long sleeves (other than maybe a raincoat) in over a month. We’ve already warmed up around here. And even if I could wear wool (it eats me alive!), we just don’t have the climate for it.

        • V.H says:

          Oh you wouldn’t do that here. There were days this last month that were wind-chill colder than winter.
          The suit is lined, so it doesn’t actually come into contact with the skin. But I doubt it would cause issues as it’s totally smooth, no hairy bits like a jumper at all.

  2. Kimberly says:

    Yes! I’m with Kelly, so colorful. Just adding those tents in makes everything contrast nicely. What a fun set up…I love me a craft fair. 🙂 Is the craft fair year round or just during the summer. I’m assuming they’re all locally crafted goods.
    I’ve probably mentioned this before, but I liked visiting Kilkenny a lot when I was there. It’s a pretty city, and there was so much to see and do, plus that castle is something.

    • V.H says:

      You know where I took it then in relation to the castle. It was maybe 20 yards behind me.
      But no, I’d not heard you say about Kilkenny. I know you went to Waterford.

      I think they have to have some sort of selling every week to keep the market in existence. I know the last Government tried to rationalise the system and ran into the real bloody-mindedness of the Irish. There was place that had not had a market in 50 year that suddenly discovered a fundamental need for one.
      My only issue with a ‘craft’ fair is it becomes ‘precious’, and those involved think they are a higher species to other stall-holders.

Comments are closed.