Fire in a neighbours

The other day when out with the dog I noticed a column of smoke. These days you rarely see a barn fire. Why, I don’t know. But I surmise it’s due to silage replacing hay as the winter fodder of choice. And when you do see farm fires it’s usually in September time. Now, while a tragic event given the loss of buildings, it’s in no way as bad as if it went up filled to the rafters with winter feed.

DSC_7227

This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fire in a neighbours

  1. Ed says:

    We see a lot of barn fires in the summertime due to lightening strikes too, hay or not in the mow.

    • V.H says:

      I don’t understand ‘ in the mow’.

      I suppose the feed value remains for you to continue to use hay since it dries so quick once cut. Here though, the feed loss from hay as distinct from fermented silage was 20%-80%. Due mostly from the time it takes to dry.

  2. Kimberly says:

    Oh no! I can even see the flames in that photo (it’s a great photo btw, nice and clear)! Do you know what did start it? I’m sure that fires ARE rare there, just considering your damp weather. We have a fire season here so that black smoke isn’t much of a surprise, but I’m sure it was quite a sight to see. I hope no one was hurt.

    • V.H says:

      Yes, it was a very clear evening. I could see it for miles. I was hoping it wasn’t some ones house. Yes they are rare enough, not unheard of, rare. And I’ve not heard what started it. But that wouldn’t be unusual. Unless you are at the core of the gossip spiral it takes about 7-10 days to fling itself your direction. The school gate is the nub. It was the church gate, but no longer.

  3. Kelly says:

    Fire is scary and that one is putting out a very black smoke.

    We keep our hay under a metal shed that is open on all four sides. Stays dry, but doesn’t build up the heat.

    • V.H says:

      Yes. I wondered about the blackness of the smoke too. When I got near it wasn’t rubber or anything petroleum on the wind but a natural smell. So I concluded it was hay for definite and quite a bit of it was damp.

Comments are closed.