Conscious uncoupling

Conscious uncoupling, would ya give me a break. We have a bloke who for the last 70 years – celebs years married equate to dog years – hasn’t had meat or anything else nice. Does anyone believe he isn’t now gnashing a three finger rib steak and has been each day for a while.
Truthfully though I couldn’t give a hoot.

Update on the Maths. 29% mastered. I am now certain I didn’t get educated in mathematics at all. It’s a blinking wonder I can count to 20 with my boots on. I never did the Domain and Range of a Function. At least not in the way I’m treating with it now. And in trigonometry, Soh Cah Toa are now burnt along the inside of my skull. The trig I remember doing. But I don’t remember going this deep into it.

We are well in to Spring here in Ireland. It decided to quit acting the maggot where the sheer volume of water being ejected from the sky was simply without precedent. And in the 300 acre wood where I bring the hound to walk sometimes, the wind snapped the crowns of 70-year-old oak trees like they were broccoli. But mostly what we’re getting is the benefit from last Summers sun on Spring flowering plants.

This entry was posted in celtic and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Conscious uncoupling

  1. Kimberly says:

    Ha! I read somewhere that the woman who coined that term is currently writing a book about it…how’s that for timing?!?! What I can’t get over is that anyone remotely cares about their “uncoupling”. I hadn’t realized that people have a genuine hate for GP saying she’s smug and fake and pretentious. I don’t have an opinion, but I would imagine this kind of thing might be the reason for the divorce and/or why it’s taking over the headlines. I do wonder what the therapist would say about knockdown, drag-it-out divorces…are those people “unconsciously uncoupling”? 😉

    Are the trig classes showing the why and how to using it? I think that’s what has always been missing from our math classes (at least here). We were all taught formulas and how to plug in numbers but never why. Your comment about never learning math makes me laugh a bit. Of course you learned math, but probably the old-school way where you plugged in the numbers correctly for the test (or not) and left the class never really understanding. With this deeper understanding do you feel like you will finish the classes remembering and maybe even using after the fact?

    I’m glad you’re seeing signs of spring! Oak trees?!?! I don’t know why it surprises me that you have them there.

    • V.H says:

      That are part of that media machine endlessly generating news. The sad thing is that in many cases there may be honest connections to people and they succeed in alienating -like here- to such an extent the sympathy vanishes.
      This pair had a relationship that lasted x years. And they produce this ugly phrase with a vicious animalistic philosophy that says human relationships are time limited to between 7-10 years.

      On the trig classes, no they aren’t. And that’s a terrible pity. They could easily make it truly intuitive. And if they showed how to use an army compass to measure distance, now that would ease the understanding.

      The Oak’s are a native species here. But more, for the Druids it was ‘the’ sacred tree.

  2. Sage says:

    I need to redo math! As for spring, it has kind of arrived, almost all the ground is now bare,almost but not quite…

    • V.H says:

      (chuckle) What began as a bit of fun has morphed into a really enjoyable challenge. And the way the KA does things keeps one going by giving you bite sized videos that are for the most part logically connected. But you can take a whole area of study too if that’s how you roll. My problem doing that is I’m getting bogged down with basic maths like solving quadratic’s and forgetting that you have to add to both sides.

      Yes, it’s pretty bare here too. But all the flowering trees, Plums and such. While both the Daffs and Primroses are excellent.

  3. Kelly says:

    I must be totally out of touch because I’ve never heard of “conscious uncoupling” and have no idea who has consciously uncoupled!

    I guess it was to be expected that the wind from all those major storms y’all had would cause some damage, but I hate hearing that about the oaks. (and for some reason I can’t get Pooh’s “hundred acre wood” out of my mind now 🙂 )

    • V.H says:

      Would that could unhear it too.

      What was amazing this year was the trees met with what must have been incredibly powerful gusts to snap them like that. I was in Kilkenny today and I saw where telegraph poles were snapped in half too, with the telephone cable still intact. I’ve seen many trees uprooted where the force of wind was a constant and prolonged. But seeing these and ‘in’ a wood was just so odd.

  4. Ed says:

    I love math and have always loved it. To me it is somewhat like poetry when I am solving a problem. I almost got a minor in math while getting my engineering degree and have thought about getting a degree in math though I have not a clue what I would do with it. Trig was one of my favorites with the theorems and proofs but I really like calculus too. Probably the only math class I didn’t like was advance differential equations which we called differential equations from hell. I suspect it had more to do with a bad teacher and my impatient early 20 something mind. If I had to do it over again I think I would do much better.

    • V.H says:

      I like the preciseness of maths, but as I said it seemed I was missing chunks and found advancing in certain areas incredibly hard. Way harder than I suspect it needed to be.

Comments are closed.