St Partick’s Day.

Today, the 17th of March is St Patrick’s Day. It is marked the world over, wherever the Irish live. Here in the Irish news it’s marked by the yearly flight of politicians going to wherever there is a goodly population of successful members of the diaspora. The expression used to describe the phenomenon is Kissing Ass for Ireland.
Recently a politician of inordinate grit and steel died. Tony Benn was a Labour MP and Minister in the UK government. He was a man whom one listened, this even or especially if you fundamentally disagreed. Like myself he moved further Left as he got older, unlike myself he did something with it.
The following are a set of apt sayings of his which zone in on his truly incisive mind and shows precisely why both Left and Right admired him.

Questions to ask a person with Power.

1) What Power have you got.

2) Who gave it to you.

3) In whose interest do you exercise the Power.

4) To whom are you accountable.

5) How can we get rid of you.

The Guardian Obit for Benn *********. This is the Centre/Left Newspaper in the UK.
The Telegraph Obit for Benn *********. This is the Rightwing Newspaper in the UK.

Happy St Patrick’s Day.

This entry was posted in celtic and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to St Partick’s Day.

  1. Kimberly says:

    Kissing ass for Ireland! Ha ha ha! Isn’t that the truth.
    What a shame that more can’t model themselves after your subject. Having the ability to be respected by both “sides” is hard to do these days. I’ll have to read your links to comment further.

    Happy St. Patrick’s Day to you too!

    • V.H says:

      Tony Benn might be likened to Ted Kennedy, not closely mind, but near enough all the same. He was the best Prime Minister the UK never had. A humanitarian in the true meaning.

  2. Ed says:

    I have a few Irish ancestors but they are few enough and far enough back in my ancestral tree, that I don’t consider myself very Irish. Back in my younger days I use to go out with friends to drink the obligatory green beer but these days St. Patrick’s day is just something I make a mental note when I learn it is here and go on with my day. My daughter though made sure she was wearing plenty of green this morning before she left for school.

    • V.H says:

      I’ve never drank a green anything in-my-life.
      Is there that number of Irish descent in your town that the kid would know about the green. I know Nebraska and parts on Minnesota are very Irish. But somehow I’d believed Iowa was more German Dutch and English. Excepting Radar O’Reilly or course.

  3. Ed says:

    Definitely not very Irish here. My few ancestors are strays that moved west in the late 1800’s and married into the plentiful German and English groups.

    As for knowing about the Green, St Patrick’s Day is becoming more commercialized here every year so it isn’t surprising she picked up that bit of information.

    • V.H says:

      Yes, you cannot get beyond the belief the marketing goal is to have at least one major buying day per month.

  4. Kelly says:

    Another blogger I follow had a nice word for Tony Benn as well, including the quote you used. Excellent questions to ask of one in power, especially the final one! Now your comparison to Ted Kennedy left me a bit cold, as I’ve no respect for that man.

    As for St. Patrick’s Day….it’s become quite commercial in this country. Having my share of Irish ancestors, I loved it even before it got that way. Yes, I wore a green shirt, cooked corned beef (in dark beer) and made colcannon.

    • V.H says:

      Kennedy had a capacity to form coalitions across the floor, that’s what I meant. How much a Democrat and of the Kennedy’s were or are is very much open to question. I’ve always thought they were more feudal than anything. Of course the alliance between the Southern States ‘democrats’ and the working class Irish in the north’s cities was always a bit forced.

  5. Sage says:

    Happy St. Patrick’s Day, Vince, a day late.

Comments are closed.