Tedium

There are few things so utterly tedious as drying clothes during the Winter months here on Ireland. We have an unholy combo of daily rain and costly electric power leaving you with the only solution of festooning every radiator in the house with clothes in various stages of dryness.
Everyone, and I really do mean everyone has a clothes horse. These are rickety, easily toppled and hard to use. But you turn up on a visit, knock on the door and you hear from the depths of the house ‘hold on, I have to move this thing’. And you go in and find the households newly washed clothes every place. Why the hall. Well, it’s a space rarely used to achieve egress and it’s heated.
Anyhoos, I may have at last solved some of the problem by adding a drying rack that’s hoisted, thereby solving the toppling issue, at least for next year. Oh, the hoisting mechanism (set’s of pulley’s really), it was made for lift bicycles out-of-the-way in a garage where they usually take up vastly more space that they really need.

This entry was posted in celtic and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Tedium

  1. Kimberly says:

    Oh I can imagine. Here, things will dry before the day is over, and if it’s windy in just a few hours. When I was traveling in Portugal last year during those two weeks of pouring down rain, I washed out a pair of jeans on the 2nd day of the trip and they were STILL wet when I packed to go home. The thought, “I’ll wash it and wear it tomorrow” probably doesn’t happen too often there. 🙂
    Do you all have dryers at home but not use them due to the cost, or do you even bother with them?While I hang certain things to dry, the rest goes in the dryer. I’ve seen those drying racks, but have never had one. Anything with a railing or a door/doorway is used in my house. I do think the idea of getting the thing on the wall and out of the way is a good one. For most of us floorspace is precious.

    • V.H says:

      Everybody has a tumble dryer. Wellllll, hmmmm, yeah, I’d say most have one. They are only used to air clothes. To take out that last bit of water, the damp. Or another trick. Men spritz a wrinkled shirt with 2-6 squirts of mist then into the dryer, on hot. It takes out the creases and gives it a look of being ironed.
      As to using the dryer to dry a ‘wet’, just washed -I need it today- pair of jeans. You’d be better to go to a shop and buy another pair. You certainly wouldn’t feel quite so gypped.

      • Kimberly says:

        Ha ha!
        About 11:30 last night I hung up a bunch in the hallway to dry overnight, and now at 8:30ish they’re all ready to wear.
        Oh yikes! I think we just had an earthquake as I wrote that!!
        Anyhow what a difference the humidity, or lack of, makes.

        • V.H says:

          That can happen here in Summer too. It’s just there was many’s the time this winter when I took clothes in to spin in the washer to rid them of rain.

          That quake must’ve been bad if you commented. I’ve read of people driving on your roads who see the posts of traffic lights rattle as if in a wind who say to themselves ‘meah a 4’.

          • Kimberly says:

            Nah, it was only a 3.9. Even so, they make my stomach drop a bit. I hadn’t gotten out of bed yet so it was quiet and the house creaked creaked quite a bit. There have been about 8 more since in the same area, but much smaller. Those I didn’t feel.

  2. Kelly says:

    I haven’t dried clothes on a line outside in years, but the few things I hang to dry inside do so fairly quickly. Just another part of my life that I tend to take for granted (as I hear my dryer tumbling in the background…).

    • V.H says:

      There are things that mark a culture and they tend to be the very basics of ‘survival’, heat, clothing, food, transport and housing. It’s then you get to the common factors. For instance, even if the Northern States and the Southern Stated drew from the same source at the same time, which they didn’t, the difference ‘in living’ between Savannah and Staten Is would have separated brothers in a few years.
      BTW, if you really want to freak out the Scot, Welsh, English or Irish of any income or class. Tell them the immersion heater was on for 24 hours.

Comments are closed.