Angry Atlantic

DSC_6964-4

Image | This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Angry Atlantic

  1. Kimberly says:

    What happened to the idiots’ post?!?! Or is this it? 🙂
    I like the photo. What a great shot of the wave, and it’s nice it in b&w. They look like they’re cold. And the guy on the left looks like he’s walking right in.
    I hope your mom’s doctor appt went well. Were you wasting time by the sea?

    • V.H says:

      This is it. I renamed it as I thought it was a bit harsh.

      And yes, that was exactly what I was doing. I drove her to the hospital and went across on the ferry and went down to the Hook. Of the By Hook or By Crook.
      There were standing on a ledge below the lighthouse with intermittent combers, huge darn things, in water otherwise simply slight swell.

      • Kimberly says:

        It looks like quite a beautiful place and that lighthouse is great. I bet that was a nice trip.
        When I lived on the East Coast, I remember being just shocked at the hurricane chasers when that weather would roll in. I do understand how the water is fascinating and the waves and beach are beautiful, but watching from afar is nice too. 🙂

  2. Kelly says:

    If that angry sea is as close to those folks as it looks….well, I think Idiots was an appropriate title.

    Impressive shot!

    • V.H says:

      The guy on the left is looking down into it from the edge. Him specially, but really all of them could be swept out in a trice. The pure tonnage of water nudged by a gust of wind and they would be dashed against the rocks.
      The thing is though, what gets me about this kind of idiots is they know and expect saving by lifeboatmen who will put their lives at risk to pull them out.

  3. Sage says:

    Nice photo–a long lens can sometimes create the appearance of danger like that when those in the foreground are not really in danger, but I sense this was not the case here. We have that problem with storms on Lake Michigan and folks who get out on the jetties

    • V.H says:

      Yes, that’s true, you can get compression when you get to the longer lenses, 2-300mm and above. Actually, you can get it nowadays when you crop with the lower numbers too. The numbers for this are, iso 100 | f16 | @ 1/30 sec | 70mm.

Comments are closed.