Exhibition over.

I removed the photographs from the library first thing Saturday morning. I had two pages of comments and only one a bit off. SAM_0090 SAM_0091

This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Exhibition over.

  1. Kimberly says:

    That went by fast!?!? I’m sure it means a lot to have the comments; they kind of validate your work. On the first page the 2nd and 4th from the bottom are both very nice. I think it was very special to have local photos, photos the visitors could recognize or relate too.
    I’m surprised you just got one “off” comment. It’s amazing what people are willing to write under anonymity anymore.
    Will you do it again?

    • V.H says:

      Oh yes, very fast. There’s 3 comments in the first 4 lines. It took me a while to realise that. Same teacher ?.
      Me, I’m delighted. I was afraid I’d get none, good or bad.
      I’m glad I made people remember the mountains. And yes many would know that spot around the area as it’s a spot for a Sunday drive. I doubt any would’ve seen it with dawn sunlight before though. The Printer thought the crag was in Australia.
      On the ‘off’ comments. It was the County Library so it was a self selecting group. But I was expecting well written crit’. 🙂
      Can you scan the one at the top of page 2. This commenter writes far better than I do but I’d say they didn’t see Y2K or even close to it.

      • Kimberly says:

        I was wondering what you would do with the prints now. It’d be a shame, after all that work, that they should reside in storage. I’m glad you’ve put Jess’s up.
        That commenter could be on the younger side, but it could also just be someone who is attempting to be clever in 140 characters or less…maybe a side effect of social media, which has inflicted all ages. 🙂

        • V.H says:

          You could be correct. As to the storage, I’m not so fussed. I’ve got some ‘out there’ and they got a good reception.

  2. Kelly says:

    Overall, I think you got some very nice feedback. I noticed I wasn’t the only one who really liked the shot with Jess. 😉

    As for that “off” comment… I’m not particularly thin-skinned, but it might have irked me a bit. Maybe you don’t choose to do portraits or still-life. They should have left it at “very nice work”.

    • V.H says:

      I have that one with Jess over the mantle right now. And yes, overall, the comments were very nice.

      On the off comment. I know that type of mind. We have them here in volumes you’d not believe. The ‘good’ bit is only a way in to deliver the rest of it. It the same as when someone says “You look lovely in that dress. But such a pity about the hair,nails, shoes, make-up and what-have-you.’ I read some place that in the States you have the ‘compliment sandwich’ which does much the same. It can really prey on the mind since you think the intent is benign. And nothing could be further from the truth.

Comments are closed.