Better shots.

I was back to the library with a list of titles and my name and phone number. I spent at least ten hours writing 500 words and rewriting 500 words trying to put a biog together so I dodged the thing by going the one page route with name and postnominal with a phone number than the list of titles and stapled the lot to a wire backed plastic covered notepad.
These photos aren’t great as I had to shove up the ISO beyond what my camera in happy with, but they do give an idea of the space. Plus it shows why I chose only five and why I went so big at A1. I’d have liked to go even bigger but I really cannot justify going bigger finance-wise.

DSC_6848 DSC_6850

This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Better shots.

  1. Ed says:

    It looks like a nice exhibit. I hope you draw quite a crowd. Are you selling any of your pictures or is strictly a viewing?

    • V.H says:

      I learned from people I know who have regular shows not to over pack an exhibition. That it was better to have space between that isolated each one from the other so your eye was filled with what was before you. Either that or have four or five cheek-by-jowl so that the group are seen as one.
      As to selling, I’ll see if someone makes me an offer.

  2. Kelly says:

    Oh, yes…this gives us a much better view of the exhibit. It looks wonderful and I hope it’s a great success!

    • V.H says:

      Thank you. Frankly, them being up at all is a success. But there is a good flow of people through the place and hopefully they will catch an eye. I put the red sunset in full view of the opening and that it looks like a dragons eye seen in peripheral vision should draw a few in further.

  3. Kimberly says:

    It looks great. That is such a nice space and I do like that you didn’t overwhelm it with a lot of photos. The brick is a nice backdrop but has the potential of being too busy. What you’ve done is a nice contrast.
    After all the hardwork, now you get to sit back and enjoy the limelight. Congrats!

    • V.H says:

      Thanks, I kinda like em too. If you squint you can still see em. Generally if it’s a poor or weak photo when you squint it’ll merge and vanish.
      They were expecting a lot more if the comments yesterday are anything to go by.

      You see what I mean about getting the print made bigger next time. (Or making the frame smaller.) Getting the picture ‘just’ perfect was a real pest. If I’d made them bigger I could’ve wrapped round the side of the frame.

      • Kimberly says:

        Yes, the photo wrapped around the sides would have made that part much easier. I hadn’t even thought about that. You had to be spot on with the edging this way. I bet that was nearly impossible. Just a hair off would be noticeable with the white border. All of the ones I’ve had done have the photo or a mirror image of the photo wrapped around the edges and it looks very nice too. That’s probably why! Next time.
        The library staff was expecting more pictures?
        I actually wrote this last night and never hit post. ๐Ÿ™‚

        • V.H says:

          Mirror image ?.

          And yeah, that hair of white was a nuisance. If I’d been a little less anal when I made the canvas frame. Thing is if I had the canvas here I’d have built the frame to the canvas and could have decided as I went how big it would be.
          Hmm, they were. They rang me Monday to ask outright. But I was probed in that Irish way whether that was it. You know that kinda way where you have to ask yourself what exactly is being asked.

          • Kimberly says:

            Yes, the mirror image is something I did on my last set of prints – well I didn’t do it the canvas print company did. Rather than losing the edges of the print to the wrap around the sides, they were able to print the photo the true size, and the wrapped edges pick up the mirror image of the sides of the picture. You can’t tell because it looks like the wrap is part of the photo, but the photo hasn’t lost any of its size. You can go to this link and play around with the borders (mirror, wrap, color) and see the differences. http://www.easycanvasprints.com/single-canvas I have no idea how they do it, but after losing some of my photos on my previous order, I was really pleased with the mirrored prints.
            So would that be considered Irish guilt or Catholic guilt or both? ๐Ÿ˜‰

            • V.H says:

              Ah no, nothing to do with guilt at all. They will ask you a question beside the bit of information they want to know. Not outright asking. Like here, they didn’t ask me if that was all, but said the other people who hung put up a lot more. Leaving me to fill in the rest.

              Ahhhhhh, not I get you.

Comments are closed.