Pick-up lines I heard on the radio.

(1) Bloke to girl at a bar. “Did you hurt yourself when you fell from heaven”.

(2) ” Ring your Mammy and tell her you won’t be home tonight”.

You’d have to say the Irish schools aren’t doing such a good job at Christian formation. The first one misses the implication that the chick is the devil, not the beauty of an angel it’s designed to suggest. But I truly doubt it’d fly very high with Irish women anyway. While the latter would certainly cause a laugh and perhaps get the game going being just cheeky and certain enough.

This entry was posted in celtic and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Pick-up lines I heard on the radio.

  1. Sage says:

    I am sure theological details are the last thing going through a bloke’s or a woman’s mind when he is hitting on her! But I had to chuckle at that line…

    • V.H says:

      The language around women by men would want to be generally very flowery for the first one to seem reasonable. It’s really over the top by a good margin.
      If an Irish lad lead with this,

      Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day?
      Thou art more lovely and more temperate:
      Rough winds do shake the darling buds of May,
      And summer’s lease hath all too short a date;
      Sometime too hot the eye of heaven shines,
      And often is his gold complexion dimm’d;
      And every fair from fair sometime declines,
      By chance or nature’s changing course untrimm’d;
      But thy eternal summer shall not fade,
      Nor lose possession of that fair thou ow’st;
      Nor shall Death brag thou wander’st in his shade,
      When in eternal lines to time thou grow’st:
      So long as men can breathe or eyes can see,
      So long lives this, and this gives life to thee.

      He’d more likely get a slap-down along the lines of ‘Why are you spouting Junior Certificate poems’. This would be followed by an anatomically impossible direction about where and what he should do with himself. Off, being the general location of the ‘where’.

  2. Kimberly says:

    Heh, heh, heh – the first one I’ve heard around before. But that second one is pretty good. A little over confident maybe, but that’s not always a bad thing. It would make me laugh. The first one would make me roll my eyes. Were these being shared on the radio because they worked?

    • V.H says:

      You know when you’re driving, you hear the radio in a sort of in-and-out kinda way. So I don’t know if these were the very worst or the very best lines. Or even if it one of each.
      It seems though the straight forward approach works better than I’d ever have thought. The lean in and whisper near the end of an evening ‘I’d do you’, seems to get ‘OK then, lets go’, here in Ireland and also in the UK.

  3. Ed says:

    I was never good at pickup lines which I suppose is why I never got married until later in life. I’m just glad I don’t have to worry about things of that nature anymore.

  4. Kelly says:

    Well these both would have gotten an eye-roll or laugh from me, back in the day, and I know my daughters would feel the same way. And, yeah….if the inclination were there, the second would work far more quickly than the first.

Comments are closed.