14 Dec 2013 (or for want of a title)

Presents. I got a halogen cooker from my mother for Christmas. It’s a big glass bowl sitting in a holder with a lid which contains the working bits. I thought it was like a microwave but not a bit of it. It doesn’t give that very odd raw look you have from a microwave. No this actually is a heat source. And what heat it can throw at an item. You can crank it up to 250*c. There is a light in it which I assume is for colouring the meat or whatever but it’s an electric element which superheats the air and then it’s pushed round the bowl with a fan that actually does the cooking. ย I’m going to try a full chicken in it soon just to see.

Does anyone find the Nativity Plays with teens just a bit odd. Kids of six playing a pregnant Mary off to Bethlehem with a pillow under the jumper is an awww moment even for those of us who haven’t kids. But ย high schoolers, that’sย giving something of a mixed message.

I wonder how many blokes feel like him. The joke is about 17sec in.

This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 14 Dec 2013 (or for want of a title)

  1. Kelly says:

    Okay…I can’t understand what he says. “it’s my favorite ??” I’ve listened to it over and over and can’t quite get it!

    I know nothing about a halogen cooker. I’ll have to look that up.

    My middle child played Mary one year. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • V.H says:

      His favourite pub. Not a Bar exactly. Something like Cheers. But in the English countryside you have these biscuit tin pretty pubs that make ideal jigsaws pictures.
      He’s talking about the birth of his child and Emma Thompson asked him if he was down at the business end or was he purely a support for her hand not venturing lower than her nose.

      On the cooker, I’m not advocating them, yet. I’ve a feeling there might be a problem with longevity. Especially, given the heat it pushes out.

      Yeah, and I was an alter boy for a few years. Didn’t stick. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • V.H says:

        Oh sorry, the full ‘translation’, “It was like my favourite pub burning down”. His kids name is Teddy for Theodore Rose Williams.

        • Kelly says:

          Just now saw your full translation. Just knowing the word was “pub”, I was able to listen again and hear it.

      • Kelly says:

        Like my favorite pub burning down. Ha! Now it makes perfect sense! ๐Ÿ˜€
        Thanks.

        • V.H says:

          I forget sometimes the accent can cause hardship and while normally this wouldn’t be the case with ‘any’ program on the BBC Graham Norton (the Host) style is extremely good. He puts them at ease and they are far far more candid than with any other interviewer. And the audience will like Williams far more for his honest remark than any amount of pat canned politically correct answers. Of course, being this relaxed means the voice getting more ‘at home’.

  2. Kimberly says:

    We get past episodes of the Graham Norton show on BBC America. I don’t catch it often, but enjoy it when I do. Ha ha! That was a good one! I would imagine that’s not an uncommon feeling. ๐Ÿ™‚ A lot of women are being given the option and choosing Cs these days for that very reason.
    I’ve not heard of the pot either. I had to look it up. There are a bunch on Amazon, most with 4 star reviews. I look forward to your experiments with it.
    Do they do Nativity plays in school? That is unheard of here now unless they are private schools or affiliated with the church. Any type of performace we do has to be a bit more secular.

    • V.H says:

      Huh, women are getting C-sections because they don’t want their men to see. Well what earthly blooming use are they then. If in the opinion of the girls that the man they picked to sire a family is so squeamish he will refuse to jump her bones ever after because he’s seen her hoo-haa doing what it designed to do, well he hasn’t got much juice anyway. And you’d really wonder how he got one in in the first place if he’s that darn fastidious.
      So far the pot is doing great, and if it has a decent length of life would be utterly ideal for summer when it’s hot and adding the heat of an oven to a house makes it stifling.
      The plays aren’t so much at school precisely but in the community hall. But they are written casted and rehearsed in the school.
      I can understand the reasoning in the USA. Not everyone is Christian and it would be an utter nightmare to have a play for each and every kids religion or tradition. Heck with the Christians alone if you add in the Orthodox Churches you’d have an insane degree of confusion. But my instinct tells me the kids are losing because of it. And why cannot the schools deploy the main world religious festivals as the key means of penetrating the history geography and cultures. Who says history and geography cannot be dealt with in week blocks and not in daily segments.

      • Kimberly says:

        No, I don’t think it’s about the seeing. It’s my understanding that the women choosing this are also worried about “the pub burning down” so to speak. So rather than risking the, shall we say change, that occurs with natural child birth, they are being given the option and some are choosing a C. I would assume that if that option is chosen, it would be considered elective surgery and would not be covered by insurance, plus there’s so much more risk with what is essentially surgery. But, ya, that option has come into play over the last, maybe 3-5 years.

        Yes, I was thinking the same thing about the pot. An oven on in the summer here makes the house like a sauna. I truly only microwave or grill during our hotest months. And what a time saver with it all being in the same pot. Very interesting.
        Actually, what you mention of the history is how we present it in 2nd grade. One of our 2nd grade social studies standards is about traditions. We link it up with the this time of year, teach about different cultures that have melded here, and how many, if not most, of the US traditions come from all over the world. We conclude the unit of study with a December Traditions program for the parents – no nativities – but songs and speaking parts about the places we’ve learned about. In fact, our program is this Thursday morning. ๐Ÿ™‚ This way all students can participate and learn about each others’ celebrations. The only ones who can’t are usually the JWs who don’t take part in any type of celebrations. Some parents are a little more flexible seeing it as a history of sorts, but most don’t let their kids participate.

        • V.H says:

          Ah yes, I was aware of the ‘issue’ with things not snapping back into place after. But I doubt any ‘true’ man would have a problem. And I’d never heard the enjoyment of the pub by the publican herself was all that much of an issue. Yes, the furniture might have been rearranged somewhat, but the pinball machines remained where they were.
          For myself I think the true change is the one between the woman and the mother. While the woman might have her fire lit by her man skydiving or being ravished on the hall floor the instant he walks in. I just don’t see the hall activity if the travel bag, the car seat, the pushchair/pram has to be swept aside. And for certain the regular unplanned nooky disappears once the PJs come out and the padding about the home in their pelt is no longer an option.

          Yeah that all in the one pot at the one time is a bit of a crock. But in truth it doesn’t matter overmuch since the nuker does veg quite well. Also having the meat rest for 10 mins is no bad thing and in truth this does most other things outside of a spud.

          Here some of the nastiest propaganda is at play. Religion is split when delivered. You have the Irish church, pre 10th century. Pre Great Schism. And the Norman and English ‘correct’ Catholicism. It is one of the core props to a truly nasty anti Celtic racism.

          • Kimberly says:

            The pinball machine (ha, ha, ha). I do think that is a common scenario, which is unfortunate. Granted, it is easy to look in from the outside and form an opinion, but when I hear friends with kids say things like, “I’m just too tired” or “I don’t want him touching me” it makes me feel bad for them…and their husbands.

            • V.H says:

              Undoubtedly there is a problem. One that I suspect is based on life changes once the baby arrives.
              Here, before 08 and the collapse of the economy the birth rate was dismal. But once things got bad it was as if the young women decided the trips to ski slopes or three sun holidays, the big Falcon Crest sized house would be set aside and their new goal was to out do their grand mothers with the acceleration of the catch up in the birth rate. It was like listening to peas popping out of pods for the last five years.

  3. Ed says:

    Thanks for the translation in the comments. I didn’t understand either until I read them and then I understood the humor. I thought he was saying ‘pope burning down.’

    I have never heard of a halogen cooker and had to look it up. I’m guessing it is a cultural thing as I have never seen one in this country. From what I gather, it is somewhere between an oven and a microwave for speed and taste. It sounds like a great dorm or bachelor pad item but probably not something I would be interested in anymore. I have enough kitchen counter gadgets as it is.

    • V.H says:

      No worries, I forget sometimes the accent, and sometimes my own delivery of language, is a bit difficult to decipher.

      Oh, it’s big enough to do a good sized chicken. Or even a 5 lb beef joint. It would cook for a family of five well enough.

  4. Kelly says:

    All the pub and pinball machine talk was worth coming back for. Highly entertaining! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I had C-sections out of necessity. A case of babies and I would be dead otherwise. But it is major surgery (with many risks for both baby and mother), so I do find the trend of “electing” it disturbing.

    • V.H says:

      Yes, going under the knife is nothing to be sneezed at. And doing it for what seems at very best aesthetic reasons seems nuts.
      I would love to read some actual studies that indicated physical issues over and above psychological.

      And thanks. ๐Ÿ™‚

Comments are closed.