One or two weekend shots.

20131103-DSC_616320131103-DSC_6218-220131103-DSC_621620131103-DSC_6157Mahon Falls20131103-DSC_6239

The waterfall is a mile and a bit away.

This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to One or two weekend shots.

  1. Kimberly says:

    By no means is this comment meant to diminish anything you’ve done previously, but my goodness, your photos have been really nice the last few posts. Is it something you’re doing differently when editing, are you fooling around with settings on your camera, or are you just getting really good? The colors are vibrant but still natural, the lighting is amazing…I’m really impressed (for what that’s worth 🙂 )
    Where is the beach in relation to where you are? Did you go east, west, south?
    It looks like you had a beautiful weekend.

    • V.H says:

      Thank you. I do think I’ve got over that hump I had during the summer where it seemed I was treading water
      I shot with a set of graduated filters from a tripod. I just got them. 🙂 One of the main problems I’ve got here is split light. The filter allows the, well allows is wrong, fools is better, the camera into measuring the entire area sky and ground evenly. So it’s not over or under either sky or ground. And as a bonus the filters bring out the blues a bit more.
      (what I mean by split light. If you think of a room with a bulb that doesn’t illuminate the corners of a room fully. While the upper portion of the room would be bright the rest wouldn’t. So what the filter does is reduce the light from the upper portion, Darkens it. This forces you to slow the shutter. Ergo the tripod.)
      As to darkroom stuff. Nothing much, as you can see from the odd Gull flying along edges.
      The beach is south about 60 miles. And yes it was nice. We had a storm the day before and the swell was from the tailend of it.

      • Kimberly says:

        I do think what you’re doing has really elevated your photos. They are really stunning.
        So is that the Irish Sea then?

        • V.H says:

          No, not the Irish Sea but the Celtic Sea. It that area below Ireland, between Spain and France. The English call it the western approaches. But they would.

          And thank you.

          • Kimberly says:

            Ya know, I feel like kind of a dummy because I had no idea there was such a sea. I have two large maps at home although neither reference it, and it took me a few tries online to find a map that does, other than your link of course. I have a feeling that when I traveled there we visited a beach in the south too…yikes, that’s even worse.

            • V.H says:

              Ohhh I wouldn’t stress over it were I you. If you call it the Atlantic you’d be grand. It’s really only when you think about it that you see the area is an arm of the North Atlantic and then the term is loose. It’s hardly the Black Sea is it. And while not the smashing of the word sea as in the Sargasso Sea, where you’re going ‘huh’. Still, if you said Celtic Sea here in Europe most who know where the North Sea is would know the Celtic Sea. But it wouldn’t be to the fore, they’d know but it would take a bit of processing all the same.

  2. sage says:

    Wonderful shots! I love the waterfall and the open country.

    • V.H says:

      Thank you. I like that place myself too. Soon I’ll get a chance to climb up and over along the ridge.

  3. Kelly says:

    Yes, yes…your shots have become much more “artsy”, and I mean that in a very good way. I am not a beach person at all, but these shots make me want to be there. That’s saying something!

    • V.H says:

      I’m getting better at naturally saturating the colours. Where before I was getting a part of the photo correct and the rest either a little bit too near or a bit out. It was in the park but not fully there.
      I spent much of the summer reading whatever I could but without any real clue what the problem was, and hoping I’d come by something that sounded in the zone.
      It turned out to be a problem I couldn’t fix with what I had.

  4. Ed says:

    Every time I see your photos I am amazed. You are doing excellent work and work that should be displayed and sold. It makes me want to dig out my camera and spend more time taking photographs than I do.

    • V.H says:

      Thank you.
      Ireland is really quite lovely. And more importantly, we’ve a variety of landscapes within a relatively small area.

Comments are closed.