Mmm, what now.

I’ve watched a programme on TV about dogs. Well about dogs intelligence. How they measure it, is with a towel thrown over their heads and then count the seconds it takes them to emerge. How the devil do you measure a dog who will assume once she sees a towel it’s time for fun in the guise of a really good rubdown. She will go under any towel herself and stay there, sometimes peeping with half an eye from below. And if she sees one on the floor she will go under it by flipping it over her head. What the dickens am I to make of that.

New coat getting a shakedown. It’s very difficult to take a Selfie with a DSLR camera.

20131026-DSC_5983

This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Mmm, what now.

  1. Kimberly says:

    Ha ha ha! I’ve tried that one too. When I first got Rigby she wouldn’t let me near her with a towel or blanket – a nervous rescue dog reaction I think. But now, she’s such a goof, it’s a game for her too. I think they show their intelligence in other ways. Mine outsmarts me more times than I care to mention.
    That’s a nice coat. You should send the photo to the company. It looks like an advertisement.
    A selfie? Where’s the obligatory outstretched arm? 🙂

    • V.H says:

      I know she’s an intelligent little scamp. And full of fun&games. But if my one is different and your one is different how useful is the test anyway.
      And you might have a fairly placid dog not a hyper scamp that requires the word walk aspirated and frankly there are times when I think she’s mind reading ability only to have her bouncing like she’s on springs.
      I’m always somewhat disturbed with calling a photo of oneself a selfie. But I suppose there is an element of masterbation about them.

      • Kimberly says:

        “They” also say that dogs who touch or cross their front paws when laying down are very smart.
        This seems fitting…

  2. sage says:

    An interesting way to measure intelligence. Somewhere I read that scientists measured the IQ of trout to be between 8 and 10. I would like to know how they did that… Of course, the article was making fun of the idea fishermen had to “out-smart” a trout. Nice coat.

    • V.H says:

      Mmm, and probably the same people writing the article spend hours a week chasing a dimpled white ball round a 200 acre field. At least there is a chance the animal has a IQ 🙂

      Ta, I’m delighted with it so far. It’s my first buy of clothing on-line.

  3. Kelly says:

    I agree with Kimberly…the photo could be used in an advertisement. Looks like a nice coat.

    I don’t put much stock in intelligence tests, whether animal or human. Every dog I’ve owned has had a different personality and all have shown varying degrees of intelligence in one way or another. And in the spirit of a proud parent, a few have been quite brilliant. 😉

    • V.H says:

      To be honest I don’t have much truck with them either. But at the same time it’s nice to have something you think anyway, confirmed. Like doing the MENSA thingy in the newspaper. 🙂

  4. Ed says:

    I finally broke down last year and bought a remote trigger for my slr. Not only does it help me take sharper pictures when time is not of the essence, it also allows selfies with ease.

    • V.H says:

      I had to get one last year when I realise if I was to get anything I’d need a tripod and IR release. It really was dark all summer.

Comments are closed.