October 18th, I don’t believe it’s gone so quickly

20130420-DSC_4090 20130420-DSC_4091

This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to October 18th, I don’t believe it’s gone so quickly

  1. Kelly says:

    Is that fog/mist in the lower photo? It makes for a lovely scene.

    • V.H says:

      It’s a fog sitting over the river Suir. There is a main road, a national route in fact, the follows the river for about 70 miles. The road is never more than about 300 yds but it undulates. So if while driving you dip up and down in and out of rather deep fog. You see how clear the rest is. I’m about 20 miles to the mountain across the way. But on a day like that one the fog is only about for a while after the sun climbs.

  2. Kimberly says:

    It is hard to believe October is over half over, isn’t it. I am not a fan of the year going by too fast, but I am glad we’re gearing up for fall (most are there I know, but we’re just dipping our toe in it right now 🙂 )
    Beautiful photos. I like them both very much. The first is very interesting and eye catching, but the bottom one…oh my, what a view!
    I was also curious of about the fog and where you were in relationship to the mountain. But you answered that.

    • V.H says:

      I’m planning to include both as exhibits in February.

      Dipping a toe is it. Mind you we cannot really complain this year tooo much. Relatively speaking we had a goodish Summer and the Autumn is warm, actually warm. We’ve had days as high as 20C/70f. Normally we’d be 10C/50f.
      I think a lot of people were really short of Vit D last winter, perhaps should have gone to a sunbed to get some therapy even. It was really noticeable the effect of a tiny bit of sun from June on.

      • Kimberly says:

        Ah, two good choices for the show. I’d venture a guess that the last one nicely summarizes the components of your area’s landscape.
        Yep, just a toe.:) While our nights/early mornings have cooled into the low 50s, during the day we’re fluctuating between 60 and 90 by the day. It’s hard to dress in anything but layers. While I leave for school in a sweater, jacket, and scarf, I drive home in a T-shirt carrying the rest.
        70s?!? Wow, that IS very pleasant. Your photos have shown there’s been a lot more light too.

        • V.H says:

          It would if what I’m on was in it. Slievenamon is part of the headscape of anyone from these parts and you sorta blink when it’s not in the eye, no matter how far away it is.
          Yeah, 20 degrees. We don’t know ourselves. But we’re getting really heavy rain too. Two inches in one 8 hour period. It sorta vomited out of the sky.

          • Kimberly says:

            Ohhhhh, I thought that was the mountain in the photo. You should go climb the other one and shoot that way. 😉

            • V.H says:

              Slievenamon has a drama that’s different to that mountain, Comeragh Mountains. 🙂

Comments are closed.