I may well be wrong… .

I may well be wrong, it’s not exactly unheard of, but I do believe that the ‘movement’ forming about that Pakistani girl shot for going to school is bordering on abuse.
Malala Yousafzai is a girl of 16 shot because she was at school. This school going was against the local religious police and as a result they shot her, from which she nearly died. Since then she has become the focus of a great deal of very admirable hopes.
The thing is, she is a 16-year-old girl. She isn’t the United Nations Committee for the Education of Girls, nor is she any other organisation. Today on the news there was reports of her getting a Nobel Prize to aid her in her life’s work. But she’s 16, not 36. And to pour such expectation upon a child is as far as I’m concerned little more than abuse. Not in truth that much different from the animals that would stymie the hopes and dreams of the poor and other girls like her.
However, I may well be wrong. In fact I truly hope I am, but I cannot help but feel the expectation in the liberal west is condemning this girl to at best a life surrounded with bodyguards.

This entry was posted in celtic and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to I may well be wrong… .

  1. sage says:

    Like you, I hope you’re wrong, for it is a terrible burden for a 16 year old, but she has overcome so much and in such has become a face of those who stand up against such oppression.

    • V.H says:

      I cannot help but feel she has done her bit. That what she’s overcome is enough for one lifetime.

  2. Kimberly says:

    To listen to her speak, she’s so articulate and wise beyond her years. She sounds genuine and like it’s a fight she wants to take on. But she is young. I hope it’s not others influencing her to put her safety at risk, but I’m sure there is some “encouragement” from the UN et al. Although she is only 16, she’s light years more mature than the subject of your last post and probably most of the teenagers in this country. While our kids take their education for granted, this little girl wants one so badly. She’s impressive nontheless.

    • V.H says:

      Yes, I agree wholeheartedly. She is all those things. But it was listening to her when she was here a few weeks ago that I was so struck with her maturity and the incongruity. She was regardless of my impression of her maturity, 16. Therefore how mature could she truly be.
      I also get she probably knows she is in immense danger. But knowing and understanding at 16 are two very distinct processes.

  3. Ed says:

    She is an inspiration for sure but for me, her earning a Nobel is about the same as the one Obama got. There are lots of people who have spent lifetimes fighting for peace who go unrecognized and yet Obama got his for getting elected and Malala might get one for being shot. To me, awarding them for those reasons takes away the nobility of winning a Nobel.

    • V.H says:

      Ed, just an fyi, the system at Google Chrome is flagging your site. It is saying the site Roundrock journal is a known distributor of malware and has inserted some on your site. Since if memory serves that site is with blogger so why the heck they dont simply remove the stuff, I don’t know.

      I think the Peace Prize is only for services to ‘actual’ peace and not to be handed over willi-nilli for whatever new political face turns up. Mind you, this girl deserved something for what she’s been through.

      • Ed says:

        I noticed that today and removed roundrock journal from my blog roll which seems to have solved the provlem. His site is through wordpress. I’m not sure what happened to him that caused every blog linked to his site to be flagged.

        • V.H says:

          Depending on what widget he’s got, those things could be hacked without his even knowing about it.

          • Ed says:

            I saw that I still was getting flagged so I did some digging and found that I also was ‘following’ his blog through bloggers dashboard. Once I removed that, all seems well in the world again but I grabbed a standard template again from blogger to start over fresh in case something got implanted into my blog. Thanks for the heads up!

            • V.H says:

              No worries. In fact it has made me wary of my wordpress blog.
              I have the ad-block, the do-not-track and Ghostery.

  4. Kimberly says:

    Interestingly enough, she was a guest on Jon Stewart’s show last night. Unfortunately, I fell asleep in the middle of it so will try to catch it again today. From what I caught though, it does seem as if her father is a big influence on her activism as well.

    • V.H says:

      Yeah and that’s another thing. You cannot turn on a telly without her visiting some new TV station.
      Are these interviews paying gigs I wonder.

  5. Kelly says:

    I hope, at 16, she can truly decide for herself how far she wants to take this. She is bound to feel a certain amount of pressure. And yes, I fear for her safety.

    • V.H says:

      I would be vastly less uneasy was she 18. It just seems uncooked at 16 if you know what I mean and readily open to manipulation. And I see she seems mature, but still this is a factor of time on earth together with brain hormones. There is a reason why kids cannot marry younger anymore.

Comments are closed.