The poor little hound

My little dog isn’t getting any real walks. Not since last Saturday. My fault entirely, I’ve been laid up with very painful tendonitis in one foot. This comes from an allergic reaction usually from something with a high level of fructose. So I’m very careful when I read the make up of a product before I buy it. Anything with corn syrup will result in a very painful punishment for greediness.
At the moment I’m in bed scared of my own duvet reading one of the Clan of the Cave Bear series.

This entry was posted in celtic and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The poor little hound

  1. Kimberly says:

    Oh, poor you too! I’ve never heard of such a thing causing tendinitis! Was it anything good at least? 🙂
    Mine always puts up with a bout of inactivity due to illness for a short period of time, happy to be lazy for a bit, but after more than a day or so laid up she’s had enough and is a complete maniac until we get out again. Is Jess chomping at the bit?
    How’s the book

    • V.H says:

      Yes, it thickens the tendon or ligament shortening it. This can be sore elsewhere but because there are so many little bones in the foot or hand it can be utter agony there.
      It was a chocolate on chocolate on chocolate with chocolate jam in the sandwich of a chocolate cake. It was about the size of a brick. I thought it would be OK as it didn’t say there was any syrup in it.
      The dog knows there is an issue. She smells the foot with the problem. So is happy enough to be on the bed beside me. And I do bring her for a short walk, but nothing like what she usually gets.

      And I’m plotting a post on the book

  2. sage says:

    I hope you get to feeling better soon, not just for your dog’s sake, but for your own sanity. Take care!

    • V.H says:

      Ah yeah, I’ll be fine. It just takes a week to run it’s course. The main problem is I keep thinking things are as they used to be, when I could eat as I wished. But then they never were all that great even then, I had issues even as a kid.
      And thanks.

  3. Kelly says:

    I was all ready to scold you until I realized why. Instead, I’ll offer my sympathy and hope you get over it soon! (as I’m sure Jess does)

    I’ve never read any of those books. At the moment, I’m enamored with James Herriot. Thanks to your recent comment, I pulled them off the shelf and dusted them off. The plan is to read something different between each volume so I don’t get tired of them, but I’m not sure that would happen. I’m currently on book two.

    • V.H says:

      In general I think she’s grand. She is getting enough to burn off steam, just not what she normally gets. And being on my bed was quite amusing. There was a progression where she started at the foot and slowly progressed to curling in at the back of my knees. Then one day I suddenly discovered I was using her back as a lectern. You see I couldn’t lay flat for the covers would touch my toes.

      I’m really glad you like the Herriot books. And once you’ve read them you can put them someplace to dip into for the writing and stories are ideal for re-reading.

Comments are closed.