Hard to believe it’s mid September

_DSC5606 DSC_5421

This entry was posted in celtic and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hard to believe it’s mid September

  1. Kelly says:

    As much as I love cemeteries, there’s something about that first shot I really like. So, I’d have to say it’s my favorite of the two (if pressed to choose). The contrast between the fence in the foreground and the blues and greens in the distance is lovely.

    • V.H says:

      Yes I like that one myself. I cannot get the High Cross as I want. It’s fully 15 foot high. But it’s lower that the ground around as the soil has been lifted with graves. So to get it in the frame you’ve got to stand higher making the entire thing seem smaller.

  2. Kimberly says:

    Very pretty. The top one just pops with the pink/orange sprinkled about.
    I really like the design on Celtic crosses. It looks large in the photo, but 15 feet? Wow!
    Do cemetaries still allow such large and ornate memorials or headstones in current day over there? I like visiting cemetaries (to a point) to see the different pieces. Other than the Hollywood cemetery, we have nothing like the cemetaries Back East or in Europe – in age or in the size of the headstones. Ours have to be flush with ground, at least in LA County.

    • V.H says:

      Frankly I’ve never measured it. But I can stand under that broken bit easily and I’m just 6′. Soooo, say, 6′ plus a bit then the cross piece at 18″. Call it 8′. So it probably tops out at 12′. A bit less, maybe.
      Thing is it’s a bit of an optical illusion. It looks vastly smaller, no more than head height. People look at it and say it’s their size though no matter what size they are. The graveyard is on a slope so you approach it from above it and even when you come from below there is a wall surrounding the area so you never really see it from below. That’s likely part of the illusion.
      In part because the place is so unprepossessing that I feel the placement in the early years was somewhat different.
      Oh, there are two of them.
      Oh yeah, the monuments, ahhhh, it depends. Some of these belong to my family https://ssl.panoramio.com/photo/3440160 . And sometimes you see vast structures put up by the tinkers. I like them but you do get a core racism coming out when you listen to commentary. Mostly the headstones are about hip height.

      What’s pink/orange. I’ve none of that on mine.

      • Kimberly says:

        The top photo has some plots that are not green, but rather have a pink/orange tint to them. – visable in the 2nd from the top rung of the left fence and the last two rungs of the right fence. They seem to break up the green a bit and move the eye around. I like it.

        The tinkers being your travellers or gypsies?

        • V.H says:

          I wondered what could possibly be pink/orang. But since I knew what I was viewing I had it as brown/yellow. But you’re correct it is a flesh colour of a fresco or a Titian with reds edging the yellow. I was a bit worried as I’ve been tweaking the colour settings to AdobeRGB for printing, but it shouldn’t have bothered the screens though.
          Anyhoow, what they are is stubble fields after the wheat or barley has been cut.

  3. Ed says:

    As a genealogist who visits a lot of cemeteries, large monuments are possible these days but are very rare. I think it is just a generational thing. Most of the largest monuments all come from my great grandparents generation. If you go back further, the monuments get smaller than they are today. I think the reason for small monuments today is that burying someone is now a profit driven business and funerals are so expensive these days that people don’t have money for a large monument. Back in the day, they just planted the old chap in the ground in a simple box in a hole that was probably dug by friends or family and any money spent went to the monument.

    • V.H says:

      Yes I do believe you are near the mark about the size being a fashion. A bit like crazy paving on patios, hell at one point if you stood long enough at one point someone would have done a job on you.
      Of course the planting of someone was always a for profit exercise here and in the UK.

Comments are closed.