Vaguely amazed.

I bought Salmon Fishing in the Yemen for €7 yesterday. The film was released in late ’11 in the USA and in the Spring of ’12 this side. That’s only a year ago and to have it in the supermarket in that time is mind-boggling.

This is the second film that I’ve watched twice this year, the other being The Way with Martin Sheen. And the reason for this is faith in the small ‘f’ and large is the core driver, albeit a bittersweet faith. Neither film are the usual animalistic delivery of sex and or violence.
There are four main characters Ewan McGregor, Kirstin Scott-Thomas, Amr Waked and Emily Blunt and relatively speaking a small secondary group, perhaps 50 in number. Which in this day and age is close to a miracle what with the way CGI is now deployed to generate crowd scenes.
“The bagatelle of a man with more money that sense” is a quote which shows a script written by someone why uses language and a remarkable confidence by the money men that the audience isn’t stupid and don’t need dumbed down lingo. The entire two hours are seasoned with such unusual and welcome flourishes.
This film is a gentle comedic rendition about a part of the human condition . It isn’t self-consciously driven to a family audience since the issues underlying the storyline are very complex but I believe there is an instinct within the crew that allowed such to occur. In one scene McGregor and Blunt are swimming in a river supposedly in the Yemen. This,  presented as a spur of the moment thing and so they are swimming in their clothes. However Blunt emerges from a cold river with nary a sign of the coldness of the water. It in fact strikes a rather raw discordance in what is an otherwise beautifully danced ballet.  There is one sex scene, if that’s what you’d call it. But it certainly wouldn’t frighten the horses. In fact, I doubt kids younger than 19 would know that was what occurred. But it isn’t that sexual awareness isn’t part of the film, it is.
All-in-all, I think this is a comedy which deserved the name of comedy. It pokes gentle fun at certain aspects of our society. It is wry by times, and profoundly sad in others. I think this will be a slow burn type of film, one that people will keep. It is the type of film that could be pulled out for a visit of the grand-aunt or hard-core college friends.
To say the scenery behind the action is spectacular is an understatement. Between the Highlands of Scotland and the Atlas Mountains of Morocco I suspect the director was utterly spoilt for choice. There is one shot near the end of the film where the camera is atop a mountain in Morocco looking down upon the closing of one love and the opening of another where a white SUV driving away with the rejected lover. Who is driving away without regret, one might believe. Anyways, it will certainly be a film I’ll pull out again over the years.

WordPress is telling me that Ad’s will be added to the end of the posts. These are not in any way sponsored by me. But if something should show up that would give rise to unease or outright suspicions I’d be grateful if you could let me know.  Nowadays I’m not the trusting soul where little bits of scripts and so forth are inserted. Just see if its seems targeted. If it does a clearout of history and 3rd party cookies may help.

~Vince

This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Vaguely amazed.

  1. Kelly says:

    I usually leave the Netflix choices to my husband, but Salmon Fishing in the Yemen was one that I requested. Turns out, both of us enjoyed it very much.

    I also just got the notice about the ads. I hope it doesn’t become a nuisance because I really will balk at paying for an upgrade.

    • V.H says:

      Yes, I was a bit shocked how much I liked it, it was amazingly unforced.

      Yeah, that was what I was thinking too. It does seem they are on a mission got generate revenue. I have blocking program Ad-Block and do not track ones. I switch on that toggle in the browser. I remember with blogger when they were offering all sorts of little widgets. They were remarkably dirty little things leaving code on on every computer. Do you remember those prizes you put in the side bar.

  2. Kimberly says:

    I enjoyed that movie very much too. I saw it at the theater a year or so ago, so all the details have blurred a bit, but I remember the idea being clever and different, refreshing even. It was a sweet film and not the typical romcom storyline. And, yes, the scenery was incredible. That “house” they visited in Scotland was something.
    I believe it was based on a book, but after seeing it I wondered if it had any true story basis.

    • V.H says:

      My problem was that the name had that ‘too clever by half’ title of a pretentious and self conscious ‘thought experiment’ you now find being published by the ‘good’ publishing houses. But not a bit of it. It’s actually very down to earth. To give an example is when on the first date early in the film the guy says ‘whoever is last to the restaurant, pays’ and takes off like a hare. She shouts ‘bastard’ and drops to take off her heels and off she goes after him. Men like that.
      Yes, it was based on The Fisherman in the Middle East by Paul Torday. You might know the rest being in that mining town as it were. It was adapted by Simon Beaufoy (The Full Monty, Slumdog Millionaire -seen the first) and directer by Lasse Hallstróm (Chocolat – which I have seen).

  3. Sage says:

    I’ve actually seen this movie, too! I thought it was pretty clever and laughed a lot–and it does show some of societies issues such as a guy with enough money to bring about a crazy idea and then the willingness of a government to use a situation (the guy assumed dead being alive and reunited with his gf) for its own purpose seemed realistic.

  4. Ed says:

    We watched this on Netflix earlier this summer and both of us really loved the movie. But then, I am getting close to being a Ewan fan because I can’t think of the last movie he was in that I didn’t enjoy. I also loved his book about his motorcycle ride around the world “Long Way Around”.

    • V.H says:

      I know McGregor’s face from other films but off the top of my head I couldn’t say what he was in.

      Netflix seem to be the new way. I thought it would go to USB sticks first.

Comments are closed.