A recipe.

Nowadays I eat so very little bread that I try to make it into something really special.  A kinda like cake. I get these jars of different tasty spreads, mostly based on mashed olive with different add in’s. Sun dried tomato, and a clutch of different herbs. And it’s darn expensive. Something I’d not taken too much notice since a jar lasts me ages.
Then a few weeks ago I was reading the ingredients of a Tapenade when it dawned on me I could easily make it and save a tiny fortune.
WHAT YOU NEED
One jar of good black or green olives.
One red chilli.
100ml + of EV olive oil.

Drain the olives of the salty water and up-end into a tall measuring beaker.
Break the chilli over the olives roughly.
Pour the olive oil over, then blitz with a liquidiser. Either handheld or a unit type.

OPTIONAL EXTRAS
Capers.
Anchovies.
Herbs, preferably fresh, but dried will do. I think it’s best to stick with one herb, but it’s a whatever floats your own boat in truth. I’m not over fond of Basel, and actively hate coriander (cilantro). Pure poison to my mind.

This entry was posted in celtic and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A recipe.

  1. Kimberly says:

    There’s an Italian restaurant nearby that serves the best olive tapenade, and whenever I go there I pick through the ingredients and think, “I could totally make this.” But I never have. It does seem very easy. I’d have to add some fresh garlic to mine as well. Whenever I make anything with good olives, I’m always surprised at the cost of them which is probably why the cost of the premade stuff is high as well. It probably would be a lot less to make your own and that way you’d know what exactly is going into it too
    And I could eat of salad of cilantro leaves. I’ve never met anyone who can take it or leave it. It’s definitely a love or hate herb.

    • V.H says:

      I made a soup with cilantro leaves I’d grown and drank it. I nearly blew a fuse.

      Yes, garlic would be good.too. Not too much though. I wonder if you roasted them. They take on a different dimension then.
      I think the anchovy should be left aside unless it’s eaten quickly, relatively speaking. Ten days tops, just in case.

  2. Ed says:

    Although I’ve had olive tapenades in italian restaurants, I must say that I’m not an olive tapenade kind of guy. I much prefer my bread warm, crusty and smeared with some rich creamy butter.

    • V.H says:

      I’d have been that way once but it turns out I’m profoundly allergic to milk and all its products. Even down to lactate injected in meat. Lots are like me too.

      • Ed says:

        I’ve read that all people are lactate intolerant and it has only been in modern times that people have been able to tolerate it. I was born allergic to lactate and had to be nursed on soy products. It wasn’t until I was in early adolescent stages that I was able to start consuming dairy products and even now, I don’t consume much milk. I do however like my cheese and butter.

        • V.H says:

          Near as I can figure with milk allergies they come in two forms. One a genetic source, two the obliteration of gut flora from broad spectrum antibiotic.
          The genetic source is linked to other sugar difficulties like fructose issues and with it a craving for glucose. Some peoples with lactose issues also have profound difficulties with alcohol. In fact it seems most of the world have issues except those with a genetic history that goes back to the steppe tribes and some nomadic tribe in sub-Saharan Africa.

  3. Kelly says:

    I do love a muffaletta (I’m thinking New Orleans here) with a good olive spread on it. I never eat stuff like that at home, though. Otherwise, I would probably attempt to make my own. As you said…it really isn’t that difficult and could be totally customized.

    About the only time I have cilantro is when I eat salsa in a Tex-Mex restaurant. I must like it since I’ve never had any aversion to it being there!

    • V.H says:

      What struck me was the actual ease of making the stuff and the fact it never dawned on me to even think of doing so. Normally that’s the very first thing I think.
      When I go to a restaurant I always analyse the make-up of the meal. In truth if I don’t learn something I’m vaguely disappointed.

Comments are closed.