I wonder !.

DSC_5331

This I photographed in B/W trying to bring out the force of the place. I’ve taken this image winter and summer but none have lifted as this has done. I believe it’s composition is strong and it should work in colour too. It doesn’t though, mostly I think because the evergreens are too dark a shade and are too big a shape in the image. A bit like a bottlegreen jacket on a heavy set person. You don’t see beyond the green.

DSC_5317

This is a new addition to a town park where I walk the hound. Anyone spot the flaw.

This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I wonder !.

  1. Kimberly says:

    Is the shot from your mountain? In b&w it has an eerie quality to it. I don’t mean that in a bad way, but by taking out all that green your place is known for the eye is forced to look elsewhere. What is the box or sign on the cross, about 1/3 of the way up?
    As for a flaw…is it something you’ve fixed in the photo or something incorrect with the piece?

    Ha, I like the new quote over to the side. Ain’t that the truth.

  2. Kelly says:

    I believe B&W photography definitely has its place and this photo works very well in that medium.

    • V.H says:

      I perhaps shouldn’t have thought of it in terms of 2nd choice. In fact if I was to think on true Art and photographs they are all without exception B&W.

  3. Ed says:

    I am a big fan of black and white photography and thus Ansel Adams. Being partially colorblind, it is a lot easier for me to get a nice looking photograph than using color photography.

    • V.H says:

      I think for townscapes the B&W can really shine. I’m not so certain they would work generally for landscape though. But then it’s not really something I’ve thought to much about.

      • V.H says:

        Sorry I should have said Landscapes in watercolour light we’ve got up here.

  4. sage says:

    I like the b&w landscape. As for the flaw, I saw the two leaves at the top corners and through they looked a lot more like poison ivy than clover 🙂

Comments are closed.