Harvest.

DSC_5305 DSC_5309 DSC_5313 DSC_5300

This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Harvest.

  1. Kelly says:

    I’ve not heard of Claas before. It amazes me how fancy all those machines are now, with AC, GPS, etc.

    The last shot is my favorite. Lovely!

    • V.H says:

      They are babies to what you have.

      But yes they have all the comforts. I well remember the open cabs where every day when cutting barley you’d get a nose bleed from the hooks on the beard.
      I like the last one myself. It shows the yellow real well.

  2. Kimberly says:

    Great photos. I also like the last one and the 2nd one with the tractor (would it be called a tractor?) I enjoy looking at the rolls of hay and straw, they’re so unique, to me anyway. The bales here are packed in rectangles.

    • V.H says:

      Thanks. I delighted there’s a bit of light this year.

      No, not a tractor, but a combine harvester. We have the rectangle bales too. But the move from the small ones -like the hay you had for teh pony- meant many farmers didn’t have the wherewithal to lift them. That one of the reasons for the round ones. Also many fields here aren’t really of a size that allows for the bigger machine.

  3. sage says:

    Does the combine cut and separate the seed or does it also roll the bails of straw? Nice color!

    • V.H says:

      It cuts, threshes and winnows. The grain is entirely free and ready for the silos once it passes through that machine. The next process would be milling. Or more likely in this case, mixed with molasses and soy to make animal feed after it gets rolled between huge steel rollers.

    • V.H says:

      Sorry, you also asked about the straw.
      That passes through and drops out the back end. Now while I’ve never seen the bailer being pulled by the Combine. I’m sure places in Kansas have them connected since it would save crossing the ground twice. But then the money is in the grain, so the quicker it’s cut the better. And having a bailer pulled behind the combine would slow things down. But maybe.

Comments are closed.