Sinkholes and flying ice

Just how pissed would you be if you saved to go to Disney in Florida. Then found the hotel was built over a bloody great cavern. But how much more pissed if you had bought and paid for an apartment in a complex and the same thing occurred.

I, and my camera, out until I emptied the battery trying to capture ‘a’ Perseid. One would have done. It seemed though, and if I was pessimistically inclined, that they were firing every place but where they’re supposed to fire. Any woo’s I’ll have another go to-night.DSC_5223

This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sinkholes and flying ice

  1. Kelly says:

    That whole sinkhole business is kinda scary!

    And it’s still a beautiful shot, even if you didn’t capture one. 🙂

    • V.H says:

      I can tell you if I owned a building in that area I’d be very worried. Frankly I’d be fearful to even get a survey done in case it found was sitting on an eggshell thin bit of ground. Of course it wouldn’t matter. Getting insurance for that area will mean every square inch of the place will be examined like a Saudi prince with a few thousand oil wells in a LA private hospital. It wouldn’t surprise me if they don’t insist on having the seismic equivalent of an ECG.

      And thanks, I kept wondering if I had the correct area of the sky at all. I have, I knew I had. But since not one thing came from that quadrant, I kept questioning myself. 🙂

  2. Ed says:

    What would worry me more than a sinkhole swallowing the building I was staying at would be the sinkhole swallowing me as it did that man in Florida earlier this year. They haven’t found his body and never will.

    I think if I lived in that area, I would insist on a ground radar scan before buying any property, insurance or not.

    • V.H says:

      Yeah, poor fellow. But how can things be built over what must be defined as unstable ground. But my point about teh insurance stems from a business point of view, then the result to the homeowner. If you were an Underwriter would you insure at an affordable level any building in that area without a detailed survey. But if you were buying in that area and the house you had your eye on couldn’t get insurance you could be fairly certain you were sitting on Fraggle Rock.

  3. Kimberly says:

    I hadn’t realized it was time for the showers. Did you at least see them with your eyes?
    The photo is very pretty anyhow. What is the red on the right side?
    The pictures of that sinkhole damage are something. Luckily no one was badly hurt or killed. As mentioned above, it could have been so much worse with that many inhabitants. I would imagine getting insurance in those areas of Florida will be near impossible with the recent occurances. After our earthquakes here, insurance is priced so high, most can’t get it.

    • V.H says:

      Yes and they were delightful. I had a wide lens, open to the north-east and firing the shutter for 15secs on a tripod with the radio release.

      The thing about these sinkholes that are very different from any other disaster is you can check for it. In California, the earthquakes are ubiquitous. Where I would have an utter conniption you’d be going that’s only a Mag X, you’re fine ya big wuss. But it means the very volume of those affected gives a financial protection. It just gets priced into everything. Here though they can check.

      • Kimberly says:

        Exactly. Most of us don’t/can’t purchase it, hoping that in a big disaster there will be some financial help. My point was just as soon as these disasters happen, the insurance becomes prohibitively expensive for most. But yah, in this case it’s such a small amount of people, they won’t carry the same weight with receiving some kind of aid.
        I wouldn’t be calling anyone a wuss, nope, I’d be under the table or standing in the doorway shaking like a leaf. EQs freak me out. No matter the magnitude.

Comments are closed.