Hmm, we’ll see.

My new computer was getting a bit of indigestion while running a DVD and some programs. So I rang Dell to find out if this was usual. I felt not, but without definitive statements there was no way I could know.
Well the person in India was remarkably helpful and we discovered that the hardware was faulty in some way since she’d never heard of a scan taking so long to complete.
Anywoos, there is a technician coming tomorrow with a new hard drive, new fan and a set of set-up disks. But as I said we’ll see. Hopefully the plumber arrived tomorrow too.

This entry was posted in celtic and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hmm, we’ll see.

  1. Kimberly says:

    About 6 months after I received my current laptop, I had a similar issue. It took MUCH longer for them to agree to send someone out, but once they did it was as good as new, or better really. I’m sure it’ll work out great!

    • V.H says:

      I’ve a feeling that’s why they they are so careful nowadays. At one point Dell was ‘the’ place to go for a machine. They were good and on par or more for money that anything else on the market. But they became too greedy ans squeezed the support and the result meant people left at light speed.

  2. Kelly says:

    I’ve always bought Dell (and am using one at this moment), but haven’t decided if I’ll go that route the next time. Their quick response to you speaks well of them, though. Maybe I’ll reconsider….

    • V.H says:

      Yes,they’ve been and gone. I’ve been updating the system. The put in a totally new hard drive and fan. I got new install CDs. And the chap did it and remained until it was all up and running. He didn’t just put in the drives and leave me to spin in the wind.
      If I have any quibble, it’s with Microsoft and the very volume of updating I’ve downloaded in the past few hours.
      Would I buy an Apple if I had the cash, probably, but then I don’t know. I think them a bit of a cult if I’m honest.

Comments are closed.