Total water hound

DSC_5029 DSC_5033 DSC_5035 DSC_5036

This entry was posted in celtic and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Total water hound

  1. Kimberly says:

    Looks like she’s having a blast. The water thing is in their breeding don’t you think. Some are just drawn to it. Queenslands don’t seem to be (at least this one and my last one weren’t). At the beach Rigby stopped at the edge of the tide and looked up at me as if to say, “What’s all this about?” Yours gets it.

    • V.H says:

      Quite honestly I don’t know what’s in her breeding. And what she takes to is largely contradictory. She will chase a hare but not a rabbit. She will leap headlong into a river or sea but will shiver like I’m abusing her when she’s been washed in the shower. I had a big basin for hanging out clothes that I re-deployed as a Jessy Jacuzzi to cool her on the hotter days and she will actually stand on the edge like one of those cartoon cats rather than stand in it willingly.
      I think though, part of her glee with the water stems from the birds that she finds she can chase.

      I though to Cali types were freaky about dog shit on your beaches to the point of banning dogs entirely.

      • Kimberly says:

        I think LA County has banned the dogs on the beach, except for a few dog beaches (like dog parks but on the beach) where they are allowed. In the northern counties like Ventura, SB, SLO it’s much more relaxed with the “pick up after yourself” caveat. In Oxnard, where we were, dogs are banned from 9-6, but before and after they are welcome.

        • V.H says:

          What’s defeating me is how the moly I knew that about LA in the 1st place. It must have registered from a comment on a TV show.

  2. Kelly says:

    Love these pictures! Jess is having such fun!!

    All of our outside pack love the water. It’s a good way to cool down. And I think some learn from watching others as much as what’s in their breeding. Suzy, our little terrier, is a natural squirrel dog, but MamaDog, who looks to have a fair amount of Chow in her, trees as well as Suzy. In fact, in the photo I posted of them yesterday, they’re the only two not looking at me….watching for squirrels instead.

    • Kelly says:

      Oh, and the other day when we were fishing, Suzy caught a fish from the bank!

    • V.H says:

      Soon after I got her she jumped into a swollen river. Actually the same river only back about 30 miles. That day she scared the bejapers out of me for she wasn’t able to get herself out and I needed to catch her by the scruff to yank her to the bank.
      Breeding with dogs, I don’t know from buttons. All I can say is greyhounds bred to chase will do lots of other things other dogs will do. I reckon they will even point. Jess does. Frankly I think it us praising them for one attribute and not for another. Labs bred to retrieve are probably a bit easier to train but I have a dog that can open doors towards her, every single darn door in the house she can open. Now what breading does that. She must have seen me and copied. I just wish the little brat would learn to close them after herself especially the outside ones. Opportunity is part of it also.
      Also, when my grandad was training new sheepdogs he’d force them to remain at his side for ages watching the working dogs. But there are some dogs without the temperament for sheep and thay make good cow dogs.

  3. sage says:

    Jess is having a blast! My dog is a herder and he doesn’t particularly care for water! I had a Lab as a kid and she headed to water whenever it was around and if I didn’t want to join would bring the water to me, shaking off right next to me.

Comments are closed.