And the bird poops

1) The top one is of a chick putting its arse over the nest rim and pooping.

2) Wild Woodbine or Honeysuckle.

3) The nest is ducking down. I’ve discovered if I put a torch on pulse flash they come up. Otherwise the duck well down.

4) Mom or Pop.

DSC_4769 DSC_4766 DSC_4775 DSC_4777

This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to And the bird poops

  1. Kimberly says:

    You sound like a proud (bird) papa. Their beaks just crack me up. You mean you don’t have a clever euphemism for poop over there? 🙂
    The honeysuckle shot is nice. They have such a nice smell.

    • V.H says:

      That ‘is’ the euphemism. But you are correct. When I went into the shed this little guy was arse over the edge really trying. You could almost hear the Mmmmmm’s as it bore down. Then this huge crap, huge for the size of the bird anyway. You could almost hear the sigh of triumph.
      Yes the woodland is absolutely a delight these days.


      Oberon to Puck; I know a bank where the wild thyme blows,
      Where oxlips and the nodding violet grows,
      Quite over-canopied with luscious woodbine,
      With sweet musk-roses and with eglantine:
      There sleeps Titania sometime of the night,
      Lull’d in these flowers with dances and delight;
      And there the snake throws her enamell’d skin,
      Weed wide enough to wrap a fairy in:
      And with the juice of this I’ll streak her eyes,
      And make her full of hateful fantasies.
      Take thou some of it, and seek through this grove:
      A sweet Athenian lady is in love
      With a disdainful youth: anoint his eyes;
      But do it when the next thing he espies
      May be the lady: thou shalt know the man
      By the Athenian garments he hath on.
      Effect it with some care, that he may prove
      More fond on her than she upon her love:
      And look thou meet me ere the first cock crow.
      The Midsummer night’s dream is a favorite play of mine. No snakes here though, but I don’t think that was the type of snake he was on about anyway.

      • V.H says:

        Oh the whole thing,

      • Kimberly says:

        Ha ha, ya, no I don’t think so either.
        I have never seen the play only read it, long ago. I watched a few minutes of it tonight.

        • V.H says:

          That one is a bit heavily contrasted. Wouldn’t be what I’d show a kid of 16. There is no suggestion it’s a comedy for heavens sake.

  2. Kelly says:

    I love the smell and taste of honeysuckle.

    The adult bird is beautiful! I know most animals don’t like to soil their living quarters, so clever of the baby to poop over the edge (intentionally?).

    • V.H says:

      I’ve never tasted Honeysuckle. I’d always thought it was a fairy tale addition that the elves and the nymphs sipped from the flowers.

      That bird is pissed off at me. I’m standing in one of the doors between it and the chicks.
      Yes it definitely is intentional, not one doubt in my mind.

  3. Kelly says:

    Getting that one drop of nectar from each flower is something I remember fondly from childhood. I made it a point to show my kids how to get it, too. Now I’m tempted to go see if my honeysuckle is still blooming. It’s been years since I’ve had a taste.

Comments are closed.