And educated people think of George Orwell

A Prism; A transparent body of this form, often of glass and usually with triangular ends, used for separating white light passed through it into a spectrum or for reflecting beams of light.
DSC_4584 DSC_4579 DSC_4593 DSC_4564 DSC_4585

This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to And educated people think of George Orwell

  1. Kimberly says:

    Oh no, I’m somewhat educated, but I’m struggling with the Orwellian reference to these beautiful photos. It’s late so all I’m getting is the obvious with the animals and that last photo could be a bit 1984-esque. Am I close? 🙂
    Jess has her eye on something. Love that second one with the sheep. What a view! And of course, that sunset…
    Also, that header photo is gorgeous.

    • V.H says:

      I was thinking how the 1990s ideals of the internet had become something of a dystopia. You’d have to say Goo and the rest has Clintonesque leanings to the English language. And lets face it (or not) but the security services has penetrated them, hard. But I doubt anyone really believed otherwise. We did believe they might have protested a bit first though.

      • Kimberly says:

        Ah, right duh! How could I have not gotten that with all that’s going on. I was trying to link it to your pictures. As to what you reference it is very big brother and there’s part of me that is fine with it telling myself that it’s not going to be an issue for me since I’m not using these services for ill intentions. On the other hand, it is scary and where does it end. Can/will it ever get to a point that the information can be used against the regular person?!?! I find it hard to believe that the services weren’t aware, but nowadays it’s hard to believe anything anyone with power says. It’s a very interesting time as technology has made things that way…and we all continue to use it, not willing to go off grid even after all the reports.

        I’ll have to get back to you on the new post. Right now I’ve got one eye on my class in the last hour of the day during the last week of school and one eye on the phone. 🙂

    • V.H says:

      Thank you.
      She’s looking at me. I’m about 15yds away, and she’s done her sitting and staying for the day ten mins earlier when she guarded the camera bag.
      It very difficult to photograph from the mountain as the light in the two places is so different. I can close the app and slow the shutter but then I get blur. It tends to be a bit of a trade.

  2. sage says:

    I was also struggling with the Orwell reference. Thanks for enlightening us for it made sense as soon as you mentioned it. That third picture of the trees in a hedgerow remind me of the black locust photos I posted last week.

    • V.H says:

      Sorry I put in a link.

      The flowering tree is the Hawthorn(May tree). Your Black Locast is four times the size fully grown. I know the Robinia, they hit about 120-140ft. Those Hawthorn are as big as you’d ever see them at about 25ft. This year though they are a full month late. Really, a full month.

  3. Kelly says:

    I like the blue vs. green in the shot with the sheep. It would make a great postcard (does anyone other than me still mail those things?). The sunset with the clouds is stunning, too. And, of course, Jess – always a great subject!

    • V.H says:

      Truthfully, I don’t know when I saw a postcard. But I really need a half filter for the lens to get that split type of shot. I’d have one if last year was any good at all. We get lots of those hazy days where visibility is down to a few miles.
      I like the sunset too. And Jess has broken that lead, a new lead. She was playing pull the lead from my hand on the way down and the darn thing went at the wrist loop and herself off with her flag up like a brat with it trailing her.

  4. Rebecca S. says:

    Ah June. The magical month. The second’s my fave.
    I have always been aware, in a very real sense, that whatever I type is somehow monitored by some machine somewhere. My words are scanned for my buying habits on Facebook and used to then target me with ads which I generally ignore. My friend sent me a video, however, on the surveillance state – something like 1 camera per 14 people in the financial district of London. It is Orwellian and scary when you begin to think about how we are monitored using logarithms for irregular behaviour on these cameras. Several innocent people have been tracked and hounded by the police/government agencies for what are deemed irregularities in dress and behaviour in places like airports or college campuses, or as one German fellow was, for his use of certain words like ‘gentrification’ in his correspondence.
    I do sympathize with the government, though. They are really just trying to stay one step ahead of the growing cyber-criminal movement. I’m not sure what they can do otherwise.

    • V.H says:

      Yes June can be magical right enough. It’s our Paris in May/Spring.

      I am very aware about privacy and how it’s being eroded as a personal Right by an insidious assumption that you become a personal property of someone else. I was hoping that the Hacking Scandal in the UK might provide a clearer definition on property rights.

      • V.H says:

        Also I question the worth of such data and conclusions. As I do with any profiling. To me it’s nothing more than thinly veiled racism classism and outright head measuring bullshit. We hear about algorithms looking for patterns. And yes Tesco might begin sending you bumph for babies if you start buying a set number of items thinking you are baking another. But how much value has that got with what these gobshites are actually after. It’s not as if Smith&Wesson or whatever big box shop one goes to equip is issuing loyalty cards and even if they were you’re pretty unlikely to hand it over if you are up to something nefarious.

Comments are closed.