Flame, Ash, Explosions

and lots of wind to light a BBQ.
I couldn’t justify a spend of two or three hundred euros on a barbecue not knowing if I really liked the flavours, so I went and got this DSC_4517 for €26 to see what it’s all about. You see I’ve absolutely no recollection of ever having real BBQ food. No taste recollection I should say. But I’ve not had BBQ more than a handful of times, ever.DSC_4508 As seen from the leg I exposed to the sun climbing the mountain yesterday we’re getting a bit of summer. But as seen from the whiteness of same, we’ve not had sun for a loooooooooog time, 2009. Anyhows, it’s BBQ weather and frankly I’m not over fussed now that I’ve had it thrice in the past few days. First time was with a homemade grate and a rack from the cooker. Then a disposable tray thing and not today I went and got this thing.  But if I never had BBQ again I wouldn’t feel deprived. Course, I very well could be doing something wrong.  I think I’m not putting enough bits of coal into the burner, I may even be leaning to the parsimonious. And I’m starting to cook before it’s truly hot enough, maybe. Also I now know it’s a waste of time and a proper pest to clean tomato from the grill, and cooking those bloody bell peppers is seriously pointless. But the steak, cooked all through on the BBQ was good, different, but good. Tenderer than usual.
A plus with this design and size is I can use it under an awning when it’s damp or even downright wet. Oh, the chicken, I cooked in the crock for three hours at C140 degrees and grasped the breasts with the tongs (I wrote that with a H btw, oops) and lifted it apart. Then I placed it skin down on the grill and put some hot chilli paste over it. It was red, but the heat has turned it a bit yellow in the photo.
We’re on a bank holiday today.DSC_4523

This entry was posted in celtic and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Flame, Ash, Explosions

  1. Ed says:

    Personally, I could do without grilling veggies with possibly the exception of ears of corn that have been sprayed with some oil, salt and pepper ahead of time. Fruits though like peaches and apples grill up fairly well. But the king of the grill is always the meat and I just can’t imagine having a steak that wasn’t grilled.

    Common mistakes with grilling that I see is that people make the mistake of not adding seasoning to stuff that you are grilling. Yes grilling adds flavor but everything you grill still needs to be seasoned just like you would cooking it in your kitchen. Also, a good practice is to soak some paper towels in a little vegetable oil and wipe down the grate after it is hot (holding the towels with some tongs) and before you put anything on it to cook. It helps season the grates, adds flavor and makes it much easier to clean since stuff doesn’t stick.

  2. Kimberly says:

    I was also going to mention the seasoning. My fave is Montreal seasoning, garlic or lemon pepper are also nice, and you can’t go wrong with s&p. And yes the grate has to be hot hot hot, you get a good sear that way and things don’t stick as badly either. I’m glad you’re having some good grilling weather. Enjoy it and your new grill!

  3. V.H says:

    Thanks guys. You see I was looking at gas grills that were the same size but they were cheap cheap cheap. And yes I like a bargain. But the type of bargain I like are the ones where I get a €400 item for €50. There are a few at a good price, they would be no bargain if I used them once or twice a year. Ergo the charcoal pot thing. It actually looks reasonable designwise. And more importantly it works. I expect the errors I’m finding are my fault. I need more coals in and have them really going before I start.
    There actually was a reason I didn’t season the beef. I wanted to compare the method for what it does on it’s own as different to what the seasoning aids or improves.
    I’ve changed my mind from above. Since I wrote that I had the rest of the beef as a cold cut and it was far far better that it would have been had I cooked it in any other way. It actually made the meat better than it should’ve been.
    On the seasoning. I’ve been looking at lots of the dry stuff. And I see no reason I cannot make my own, sans coriander, most of the salt and a good deal of the sugar. I have most of it in my spice rack anyway.

  4. Kelly says:

    This reminds me of the little hibachi grill I had in college. It was small enough to use on my little postage-stamp sized patio and I cooked many a meal on it. Actually, I think I used it until it wore out and the bottom fell out of it. I bet you’ll enjoy experimenting with yours.

    • V.H says:

      That’s exactly what it is !. I’d never seen one before. But that’s it exactly. (chuckle) Two culinary cultures with one stone. BBQ and Japanese.

  5. sage says:

    That’s a nice looking grill. I don’t do vegetables on the grill that open, mostly meat. Nothing beats slow cooking over coals.

    • V.H says:

      Yes. I’ve arrived to that conclusion remarkably rapidly too. What I discovered yesterday was I can lift it onto a table once lit. This solves a few issues, 1, it’s not where the dog can seen hanks of meat at eye level and 2, I’m not on my knees or sitting to maneuver meat on the thing.
      I must see if there is different types of coal though.

  6. Rebecca S. says:

    About grilling peppers: my brother did a lovely thing on the BBQ. He cut peppers into 1 inch chunks and threaded them onto a skewer, then grilled them a bit on each side. Then he tossed them with olive oil and basalmic vinegar. Very tasty indeed.
    I wouldn’t want steak cooked any other way but on the BBQ. We do them with salt, pepper and olive oil rubbed in.

    • V.H says:

      Oh, he used the skewer to cook them eh.

      I’ve spent the week cooking with it and I’ve yet to get the same result twice.

Comments are closed.