New tools

The first photo of the Hook Head lighthouse. From, wait for it, Crook. Yeppers, that’s the context of the saying, ‘by hook or by crook’. The other two, well, the first is the edit in Lightroom 5, Beta. Notice how it straightened correctly the edge-walls, but more importantly the columns are not tilting ‘away’ from the viewer. It will do this in, say, London or NYC too. Where you cannot get a shot without some tilt. I know it’s cropped a bit, but nothing like what would be needed normally. Actually, all you can expect is having two and if you are very good four vertical lines perpendicular which in a place like Manhattan means far more than a relatively bland replica of a Greek slash Roman municipal building. And it is the same photo btw. I was also a bit shocked how well the telephone line was removed by the clone tool. And I expect had I one of those pens rather than the mouse it would be more accurate. Don’t get me wrong though, this change is a good two hours solid work.  Now I know this is probably boring to epic proportions for everyone.

OH. And best of all it’s free until the 30th of June. 😀

Main Guard clonmelCourt House ClonmelCourthouse, Clonmel

This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to New tools

  1. Kelly says:

    First of all…love the top shot! Sunbeams streaming from the clouds always get me – it’s a “God thing” for me. 🙂

    Is the last photo the “straight from the camera” shot that is edited in the second? It amazes me what all these editing programs can do, what with removing, adding, aligning and the such.

    • V.H says:

      Yes, The last is out of the camera. It’s one of those buildings no one has ever or will ever get a good shot. You are too near it. The sun that morning was coming in behind the building. So that warm light is coming off the reflection of the block behind me. I actually think the light and exposure is better in that one, vastly better in fact.
      I made an error I won’t make again. I tweaked that before I removed the wire so going back would lose me the layers of that edit. A good way to think of it is a deck of playing cards where you have Ace to King where if you painted the 5 you have to go back to 4 to remove it. But you needn’t do what you did at 5 at five you can do it anyplace from A to K.

      • V.H says:

        I actually thing the first is one of the best I’ve taken. And I actually think the Sun causing the lighthouse to recede quite symbolic. I had that in mind while taking it. But having the birds also, pure serendipity BTW, just gave a life to it above the normal.

  2. Kimberly says:

    I’m working on my Portugal pictures (in vain I think), using photoshop, I’m most comfortable with that even though my knowledge of its capabilities is minute. However, I’ve heard Lightroom is really superior. I’ll have to check out the free version, just to see.
    Yes I really like that first shot too. I’m impressed with how clear the removal of the wires is in the 2nd one. I’ve been using the healing and clone tools for that same use, but get frustrated with the distortion it can create, even if it’s slight. It probably stems from my lack of patience in that with 700+ pictures I can’t spend 2 hours per. As it is, it’s taken 6 weeks to even make a dent.
    I do LOVE the ability to straighten the photos, for the reasons you mentioned.

    • V.H says:

      It isn’t better than photoshop, not by a country mile. But what it is is vastly easier. And you really don’t ‘need’ to spend more than a few moments, longer is for picky nutters like me. The sliders are quite easy. And as with PS, if you had the proper tools to do the delicate work. Not the mouse, you can, I expect get really tight clones. I don’t think I did so bad with the wire. But I am totally certain I can do better.
      If you do download it, it’s about 800meg btw, don’t do other than COPY the files. You will be given three options. And another think it doesn’t destroy like with some PS, you will always have the Mother File in RAW.
      Also given the size of the thing, it gets a bit cranky if you are running more programs that are in any way memory hungry. But knowing PS you will fly with this, it’s the difference between a flan and a wedding cake.

      • V.H says:

        Oh, a tip or two. Pull down the blacks until they blink. There is a hist with a black shadow highlight white. Shove up the white then pull back. And then when you’ve finished move up the contrast and then move up the exposure. But you’ll see for yourself.

        • Kimberly says:

          I’m smiling and nodding, pretending that I know what you’re talking about with the histograms. 🙂 My knowledge is limited to exposure, shadow, rotating, cropping, and some of the “repair” tools – probably using <1% of what the program can be used for. I do like the idea of easier, and can't Lightroom be batch edited too? Actually, I think PS can too, but I haven't figured it out yet.

          • V.H says:

            Yes it can do anything Lr can do. I’ll give you an instance. With PS, if you had a wedding shot where fav’ uncle Dirk had dropped off the perch. You could pick him out in the background and highlight him. There are certain things you won’t recover, but if it’s there you’ll get it back with PS. The main difference is where you have over 400 different app’s in PS you have 30 or so in Lr. Where you almost need a post grad course to get PS to do what you want a couple of hours watching youtube will do the job for most with Lr.

  3. Sage says:

    Great photo of the light house. Is there also a Crook Lighthouse? Also, nice work with the building–it would be nice to have bellows on a camera, but that kind of makes it more difficult to “point and shot”

    • V.H says:

      Thanks Sage. No, there isn’t a Crook Light. At least there isn’t one now. But I expect (You know what a Dún is, it’s the same word for the same thing in Scotland) there was a fire in the Great Dún at Dunmore to mark the entrance of the haven.
      Yes, a bellows would do it. In that you can tilt the nose lens. It would certainly work here. But even with that you’ll still have issues with a wide shot of downtown Dallas say.

Comments are closed.