Am I inspired or scared.

This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Am I inspired or scared.

  1. Kelly says:

    It’s a whole new generation. I entertained my 11-yr old granddaughter recently by showing her my electric typewriter and my manual Remington typewriter. I learned to type on an Underwood manual.

    • V.H says:

      (chuckle) you might as well have shown her a quill.

      Did you see the hand movement half way in. And that double flick to open. Hell that pinching movement I’ve hardship with myself.

  2. Ed says:

    My oldest is fluent at all things iPad and iPhone related. It is amazing and to think they have always been around during her lifetime. I was telling her the other day that back when I was her age, they didn’t even have computers small enough to have in your house. She asked if we had iPad’s then?!

    • V.H says:

      Hmm, but it’ll be when the little one has your CC in one hand and expanding the Paypal screen with the other, at 18mths, looking to get sweets UPS to her you’ll get the surprise. 😀

      • Rebecca S. says:

        Yes, better be warned about those online games…virtual donut sprinkles can cost a small fortune in real life if we aren’t paying attention!

        “fixed”

  3. Rebecca S. says:

    Wow. My kids certainly have grown up with technology as a first language. And I am scrambling to learn it all as a cement-brained adult!

    • V.H says:

      Ah, now I don’t know about that. This tech thing has been running for a good while now. But what’s happened is we get used to a form of it. I can program in COBOL but that form is as dead as the Dodo. The same with the internet. It’s unrecognizable from ten years, even five years ago.

  4. Kimberly says:

    She’s certainly a digital native. Such a double edged sword as there are so many good things about being open to and able to use tech but at the same time some good things are starting to disappear – imagination, patience, attention span.
    What’s funny is that while trying to help my mom with her old-school kindle recently, I kept touching the non-touchscreen screen to make it open or scroll. It’s become such a habit.

    • V.H says:

      Yes, true. But how much was the teaching in the past going against nature. I think most men have a form of ADD some with the H added. We have a tiny area for short term memory.
      In this, what has profoundly shocked me is the speed that I’ve taken to the smart phone. The bloody thing has two homes, in my pocket or tethered to a power source. I would never have had a phone in my bedroom before.

      • Kimberly says:

        Oh for sure…there’s nothing wrong with the change that tech is bringing about in education. Between the interactive whiteboard, and tablets, and desktops, and iPods most of my day integrates tech. It’s the only way we will create adults who can compete in the 21st century workforce. I just find those qualities like imagination and patience waning in me because of the immediacy of my phone. Where I used to be able to patiently wait at a stop light, listening to my own thoughts, I now find myself picking up my phone, checking email, sending a text, playing a game because I can not possibly sit there for the two minutes (max) it takes for the light to turn green.
        In social situations, everyone is socializing, just not with each other but via their phones. That same scenario is happening in our bedrooms because of what you mentioned above. It’s definitely changing our lifestyles, possibly for the better but maybe not entirely.

        • V.H says:

          I think what surprised me was the understanding the baby had of her function to the pad. Like our function to a lock.
          As to better or not, I don’t know. What I do know is that there is change and I will be far far happier when the simple search function that Google had years ago returns. I don’t like the all pervasiveness of a few players holding the WWW to their standard. Be that a moral or operational o even a search standard. But what I do know about people is that we hate H8 HATE being the product. And if a simple social of search program is developed where there is no advertising we will dump FB and Goo like hot coals. Frankly I really wish I knew someone in my region who knows LINUX. If I was in Galway I would have a hard job finding someone who isn’t a LINUX fiend.

          • Kimberly says:

            I don’t know anything about Linux so I don’t understand how that would change the use of FB or Google?

            • V.H says:

              Linux is an operating system like Win7 or Vista. Only vastly better. It tends to be those that know computers who have it.

              Why shareware would change FB and Google is that no one corp would host it. What’s happening now is Google is THE search engine but it tweaks it’s algorithms. And the feckers sent me a flag a few weeks ago asking me if it was me on my computer since the research I was doing was totally away from my usual niche. You have to liken them (Goo and FB) to public as in the Los Angeles Stadium where Edward P. Roski, Jr. can say what occurs inside. Not public as in the Street.

Comments are closed.