First world scares.

Having discovered the printer will print in booklet form. In other words four pages of text on the one leaf of A4 paper thereby saving a ruddy fortune on paper and storage solutions (aka cheap IKEA shelving). Halfway,  you must turn the paper to send it through to print the reverse. It’s at this point you can really cock things up. When instead of 85-86-87-88 you get 85-124-156-245 or some such gobbledygook requiring an Enigma Machine to decipher  if you don’t get the complex choreography of paper turning correct.  It would be easier to fold the darn paper into a facsimile of the International Space Station than following those Printer pictographs on the screen. And you are never ever certain you’ve got it correct no matter how many times you’ve done it. There is always a heart stopping moment followed swiftly by blue air or a sigh of relief.

This entry was posted in celtic and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to First world scares.

  1. Ed says:

    When it comes to stuff like that, I just pop the text into my word processor and it figures out which direction everything goes and what page everything should be on before it kicks it out to the printer so I don’t have to worry about getting things messed. It helps that my printer can print on both sides so I take flipping the paper manually out of the equation. Otherwise, I’m not sure I would be able to create a book.

    • V.H says:

      Print ‘both’ sides at the same time. Wow. Heck I’m delighted I can get colour (chuckle). Joking aside, I don’t have so much printing that I need industrial strength printers. I know they have a life, where if you never used them they will die after two years, But still if you get the cheap ink the per page price is less that going for the €1000 version that will last 8 years.

      • Ed says:

        It doesn’t print both sides at once. It prints one side, sucks it back into the machine without touching it and prints the other side. My other cheapo printer finally died last fall and I bought a Canon laser printer. It only prints black and white but I rarely print color or need too so that was fine. It can also copy, scan and fax things. The price of them have fallen so dramatically in the past couple years, that it cost about the same as what I paid for my last inkjet printer and perhaps two ink refills of all the various cartridges. This one only has one big cartridge and while still expensive, is supposed to print almost 20 times more pages than my other printer before needing to be replace. I can’t verify it yet because after six months of use, I’m still on the factory cartridge.

  2. Kimberly says:

    No kidding. I have enough trouble printing double sided let alone in a booklet. Even with the pictures on the tray that “show” how it needs to be set, well I only get that right about 50% of the time. We have some printers at work that do the double side too, which is nice.

    • V.H says:

      Double sided is harder, I think. But the pictures are totally confusing. Hell there seems to be only two ways it can go in.

  3. Kelly says:

    When printing front and back, often my printer will give me the option of printing just one or the other, giving me time to think which way to insert the paper for the next part. And as far as that goes…I much prefer to do a practice run to figure that out. It’s always easier than their instructions (and this is coming from one who almost always reads instructions).

  4. Rebecca S. says:

    Yes, I do office work sometimes and have to make up bulletins and pamphlets and things like that. It can take a lot of cut and paste! And then there is the double sided photocopying…!

    • V.H says:

      Oh I can do the desktop publishing OK. But there are ways in the printer program which allows for you to maximize the paper. Say you want 4 leaflets on one page double sided. I’ve printed the bloody things five FIVE 5 times before I got it correct. And why ??. Because the intuition and the instructional pictographs oppose each other. Dammit, there was only TWO ways it could go in to get the correct result.

Comments are closed.