A test shot

DSC_3893DSC_3893-2

Image | This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A test shot

  1. Kelly says:

    The top photo really brings out the contrast between the sky and the clouds. I’m guessing the bottom photo is straight from the camera?

    Must be cold…they’re certainly bundled up.

    • V.H says:

      Yes, exactly. I’m testing out the Adobe Lightroom before I decide if I’ll get it.

      I’ve reversed them as I hadn’t realized they went in backwards. What’s bothering me though is I don’t really think one is necessarily better than the other.

      • Kelly says:

        Despite the brilliance in color and contrast with the “adjusted photo”, I tend to prefer photos straight from the camera with croppings the only changes. Still….there’s something to be said for both.

        • V.H says:

          I’ve been reading the arguments and listening to a few. Biting my lip btw, for I’m not one to stay quite. They remind me of the traditional versus electric musical instruments of the 50-60’s.

          If I’m going to progress though I’ll need to be dexterous with it all the same. I feel if I was blowing them to A3-2-1 or more the processed one would ‘pop’ a bit more in a frame.

    • V.H says:

      It was today when I re-ran the encounter that I realized she must have been blind. He was leading her when the met me further on. When I took that shot I was a good 150 yds out from the mound. I met then more or lees on the foreground of the photo.
      The reason I took that shot is the impossibility of giving the true size for when I’m on the mountain there are few people.

  2. Rebecca S. says:

    The second is a bit more eye-popping, but I can see that a preference is completely subjective! Tough one…Happy Easter Sir Vince.

    • V.H says:

      Thanks and to you also.

      That ‘pop’ was after two hours really hard work. And the really funny thing is it hasn’t all that much more variables beyond the Nikon software. But what it can do is pull ‘lost’ areas back.

  3. Kimberly says:

    I agree they are both very nice. The photo editing software is fun and it is nice to be able to make corrections. I think there is a fine line between using the software to better a picture vs going overboard and stylizing it.
    I may have asked this before, if so pardon the repeat, but what is that stone? Are they ruins from something long ago or just rock that’s naturally piled there?

Comments are closed.