Lift the life.

Today I was listening to the BBC and heard one of the better maxims. If you aren’t getting cuts and grazes you probably aren’t having enough fun. True I heard this on CBBC in that three seconds while channel jumping, so they were talking to ten-year old’s. But I think it runs through and true to adults also.

When was it we’re supposed to stop the fun of scab picking. But then when was it I became so certain of my feet that I stopped having knees skinned raw. The primary requirement to the aforementioned scab picking. Was there a day. A week. Even a year. I don’t remember.

Anyhoo’s, a thought for the day.

This entry was posted in celtic and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Lift the life.

  1. Shrinky says:

    “..True I heard this on CBBC in that three seconds while channel jumping, so they were talking to ten-year old’s” You sure crack me up at times (still grinning), though that’s also a fine thought for the day to take away with us.

  2. Kimberly says:

    🙂 I’m assuming cbbc is for kids…
    Even though sometimes it’s kind of nice not getting those skins and scrapes (and the residual scarring) too much anymore it IS a good reminder. A rut isn’t any fun either.

    • V.H says:

      Yep, for kids.

      As adults we shift from being burned by concrete and grass to carpet.
      But in a way it’s that sort of extreme we go into as adults I’m on about. You know instead of falling from a bike/horse/skates we fall from a surfboard in heavy seas or we are totally safe. There is no mid ground. It’s over the top or nothing. I was wondering is it that we are jaded, but I don’t believe that’s it. I simply think it’s that we’ve the cash to do nutty dangerous things.
      But when I heard the comment this morning my mind went directly to the graphic. In that if you both aren’t a little sore you probably aren’t doing things correct.

  3. Kelly says:

    Reminds me of that saying about “growing older is mandatory, growing up is optional” (or something like that…)

    Yes, definitely a great thought for the day, even if it was directed at kids.

    • V.H says:

      Yeah, in that exact vein.
      A few years ago I went on a study tour of Greece with the Irish Institute of Hellenic Studies. 30 people all told. 20 were under 22, 5 between 22- 50, 4 between 50- 65 and 1 was 75. There was more life in the 75 year old than any 5 of those under 22.

  4. Ed says:

    Once while arriving at a ski lift to do some summer downhill mountain biking, there were three old guys in front of me all beat to hell. They had bandages here and there as well as numerous old wounds. At the time, I was amazed that three old guys could treat themselves so badly and assumed they were really clumsy. Three days later as my friends and I were loading up our bikes in the parking lot, I saw that not a single one of us wasn’t bleeding somewhere. That is when I realized that those old men were having fun, just as we did!

  5. Rebecca S. says:

    My husband has lots of road rash from cycling, and various scars from bushwacking. However, when he gets hurt nowadays, while the flesh wounds heal quickly, the muscles and ligaments are much slower.
    I get a lot of scratches, rashes and stuff from working in the garden…does that count? I also burned my finger making Julia Child’s Tarte Tatin last night. Ouch! 🙂
    But yes, there is certainly more to life than sitting on the couch channel jumping (or ‘surfing’ as we say here).

    • V.H says:

      I find if I don’t eat starchy foods I recover better. Potatoes, rice, bread. And when I do, only in tiny amounts for a few days.

      What did you do. Put your finger into the hot syrup.

      Yeah we call it surfing too. But I have a satellite receiver and it has a 3/4 sec delay, so it’s more jumping than surfing.

  6. Erin O'Brien says:

    Mostly, I try to keep the rubber side down.

Comments are closed.