High Cross Killamery (7th-9th century) and derelict CoI church (1838ish).

DSC_3366 DSC_3368 DSC_3370

This entry was posted in celtic. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to High Cross Killamery (7th-9th century) and derelict CoI church (1838ish).

  1. Sage says:

    Neat pictures–and your new banner at the top is incredible

  2. Kimberly says:

    There is something so interesting about old cemeteries. We don’t really have anything like that here, so I’m always intrigued. The tombstones are unique and the cross is very beautiful.
    I agree, that top photo is fantastic. So much light and color!

    • V.H says:

      The graveyards are ready settings for the camera. Before I’d have taken the shot from a very different place in the precinct, much nearer. The very old ones are all in raised geography like this one where you can see vast distances. Mostly the very old ones are on sites where the Druids were active.

  3. Rebecca S. says:

    We have a lovely ‘old’ (I put it like that because old here means something a little different unless you are talking about Indigenous peoples) cemetery, which I should photograph some day, and share.
    The last one is my favourite, seeing the stonework through the branches. Really lovely.

    • V.H says:

      Thank you. And do that. They give you lines and context together with a story, intended or not.

      I was being a bit Arty with that one right enough. There are lines in the landscape that I spotted but were a bit too hard. I thought the branches of the tree would blur it. Sorta fade it.
      I really do need a few primes though, a 35 and a 50 down to at least an f/1.8.

  4. Kelly says:

    I think cemeteries are beautiful and fascinating places. This is a great collection of photos. Love the new banner photo, too!

Comments are closed.